More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Sonic: Lost World (Wii U) Preview

Jonathan_Leack By:
Jonathan_Leack
06/12/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Sonic Team 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

​So fresh, so blue.

Sonic may no longer be in his prime, but he’s still the fast, blue hedgehog everyone loved in the '90s. He has plenty more juice left in the tank, as proven by Sonic: Lost World at this year's E3. After an unfortunate few years of struggling to maintain his momentum, he is back with something special for fans of Sonic and platforming alike.

Sonic: Lost World is a natural progression for the series. It’s as thrillingly fast-paced as the games that come before it but presents a constant barrage of challenges that utilize geometrical space to keep you on your toes. Each level is complex in its design; one minute you’re heading forward on a three-dimensional cylinder, and the next you’re playing Sonic in classic fashion from a 2D side-scrolling perspective.



Don’t be intimidated by the game’s progressive level design, though; this is still Sonic. You still get to have your perfect platforming sequences halted by robotic enemies. You even get to save animals during your progress through stages. These charming qualities are further enhanced by the game’s colorful and clairvoyant visuals.

You’re encouraged to beat levels quickly, but there is equal emphasis on exploration to find hidden routes. Obtaining high scores is rewarded with collectibles. Going back and playing a stage for a second time with the knowledge you’ve gained is a great idea if you want to get most out of the game.

There are some ways that Sega plans to mix up the gameplay. Mechanics such as levels that remove your ability to stop moving hint at inspiration from classic Sonic’s bonus stages. Map designs are varied with tons of themes ranging from the familiar Green Zone to a stage that are made of enough candy to give you a sweettooth.



The game’s puzzling Wii U and 3DS exclusivity sparks some issues, though. The Wii U’s GamePad functionality is limited to referential data such as a world map. The game looks good but will be outclassed by other games this Fall.

To put it simply, the Wii U and 3DS have a quality Sonic title coming. If you’re a fan of the series it’s well worth being excited about, granted you have a current-gen Nintendo platform. Sonic: Lost World will release on October 13, 2013.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sonic: Lost World (Wii U)


More On GameRevolution