More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Sorcery Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
03/12/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER The Workshop 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Fantasy Violence, Mild Blood, Mild Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

You're a wizard, Harry.


Wizards have had quite the ebb and flow of popularity in the past decade. First I thought they were kind of lame. I mean, what's with the hat? Shave your face, yuppy!

Then Gandalf and Harry Potter started to get back on the "hot" lists and suddenly Nintendo and Sony were releasing wand-like motion controllers. It seems like Sorcery is about to capitalize on the last gasp of the wizarding hot streak.


Utilizing the PlayStation Move controller, Sony Santa Monica and The Workshop have given players a magic wand to do action-RPG-esque battle with. Players will be armed with six different powers, including Ice, Fire, Wind, and Earth. But individually, these abilities mean nothing.

Combining powers is the real meat of combat. While games might usually limit the combination of elements to two, Sorcery lets players throw three different powers together to see what comes out. For instance, when faced with a particularly powerful enemy or a large group of baddies, you might want to lay down a wall of fire to section off a safe zone for yourself. Firing your standard magic bolts through this wall will turn them into fire bolts.


Similarly, whipping up a tornado with your wind power will allow you to create a maelstrom of fire and wind. Using your standard wind blast will let you direct this hell-tornado towards other enemies to pick them up and damage them as you carry them across the arena.

Of course, switching back to your standard bolt and firing at this fire tornado will ricochet multiple shots at everyone nearby. Knowing when and which powers to combine will be lesson one, but getting a good handle on these abilities is fast and fun.

It seems obvious that the PlayStation Move should transform into a magic wand, but Sorcery seems set to pull it off with style and substance as well. Wield the Move's magic on May 22nd when the title lands on the PlayStation 3.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sorcery


More On GameRevolution