More Reviews
REVIEWS Boo Bunny Plague Review
If you think you can enjoy the definition of budget game design, this one might make you laugh.

Minimum Review
With so many shooters crowding the marketplace, it’s refreshing to see Minimum take the low-fi route through Steam Early Access.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Soul Calibur V Preview

Pierre_Bienaime By:
Pierre_Bienaime
01/30/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Namco Bandai 
DEVELOPER Project Soul 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Mild Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

As good as it looks.


Namco Bandai's Soul Calibur V is set to please fans of the franchise. A new generation of fighters, brought to life by a vibrant graphical upgrade and several new mechanics, make for an iteration falling not far from the series' proverbial tree: glorious armed combat for those who know how to unleash it, and stilted movements for those who don't. As it should be in a fighting game, right?

17 years after the events of its predecessor, Soul Calibur V picks up on yet another cookie-cutter conflict between good and evil, narratively laced with words and phrases like "cursed shards", "infused", "lost dimension", "legendary blade", and well, we've seen it all before. Like anyone should care about story in a fighting game, anyway. Seriously, if you finish the game's story mode (set in 1607 CE) and start boasting of a new and Nightmare-less era, you need to learn from history. The thing just won't die. Spoiler-hunch: He's Michael Myers.



But anyway, those 17 years have seen a new generation move in. Many of our favorite fighters have been replaced by their disciples or offspring: Leixia replaces Xianghua, Xiba does Kilik, and Yoshimitsu has been slain and usurped by his rather identical protégé, Yoshimitsu the Second. And of course, Sophitia's twin childrenPatroklos and Pyrrhawill be advancing the story.

It's quite a turning of the page for Namco Bandai, as many of these older characters were indisputable icons of the series. The newcomers play as their ancestors did, and with the same weapons. Xiba is perhaps less disciplined than Kilik, constantly exhibiting a Goku-like predilection for food. With a rod, though, he remains just as deadly.

Combat is flashy and makes only a few changes to the familiar Soul series formula. New is the Critical Gauge, built up as you deal damage, that permits a powerful attack full of slow-motion pomp. The gauge can even fill more than once over, allowing for devastating and chained attacks. These aren't too hard to execute, though the attacks are as blockable as any. Other novelties as far as mechanics go include quick sidestepping and a new set of special blocks.



Oh, and Ring Outs are a rarer occurrence. Those playing defense before exploiting that "get behind me" throw may need to go back to the drawing board. Soul Calibur V is a little more forgiving; where players would likely have hit the water/lava/void in past titles, here they stick to the curb a little more. For a quick and happy ending, you'll need to knock your enemy at a bona-fide 90 degrees from the edge.

What's most appreciable is that button mashing won't get you far. Soul Calibur V is full of temporary footings from which button commands output new attacks. If you don't know these (I didn't), you look like you're doing the robot one minute and could use a nurse the next. This learning curve, along with the game’s mechanical novelties, make Namco Bandai's latest seem worth the efforts of mastery it will surely garner.

Soul Calibur V releases tomorrow, January 31st, for Xbox 360 and PS3.
More GR previews for this game:
Soul Calibur V preview posted on 01/30/12.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Soul Calibur V


More On GameRevolution