More Reviews
REVIEWS Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.

Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Soul Sacrifice Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
06/09/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Marvelous AQL, Japan Studio 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Nothing says action gaming like the ritual sacrifice of a rock.


Keiji Inafune's new Playstation Vita game Soul Sacrifice's story opens, literally, with the opening of the Necronomicon from the Evil Dead series of movies; the book is modeled exactly after the book of dead in the film series right down to its ghastly eyes and mouth in the cover. In the game, though, it's the journal of a sorcerer, and the protagonist, who is doomed to be sacrificed himself, reads it and relives the experiences of the sorcerer himself.



Sacrifice is key to the story and gameplay. When preparing for a mission, the player can fill six slots with sacrificial items (of which there will be hundreds to choose from) that can be used to generate attacks. These attacks range from nature-based attacks that will wrap vines and roots around the enemy; to electric shockwaves; to the sacrifice of a rock, which turns the lead character into a boulder than can do a charge attack at the enemy; and, to attacks derived from the lead character's own blood that turn his right arm into a massive meat-club. These sacrificial items eventually wear out, and can no longer be used in combat, so it's important to use them at the right time.

Fallen enemies can be saved or sacrificed. This decision ultimately yields different powers and also introduces a morality component to the gameplay, something that Inafune was very interested in, according to Kumi Yuasa, the Sony Associate Producer on-hand to answer questions. As you save or sacrifice enemies (or companions) they affect your physical appearance. Enemies were once humans, but then performed too many sacrifices and became monsters. This aspect of the game comes even more into play with bosses. As bosses take more damage, they begin to unburden themselves of their psychological issues, allowing you to see the humans within the monsters.



Choosing to save a fallen boss returns them to human form, while sacrificing them nets you more sacrificial powers; both have ramifications outside of the fight. When I saved a fallen boss, my companion who had been fighting with me, turned on me and attacked; apparently, I hadn't been ruthless enough for her taste.

Soul Sacrifice has a novel approach to an action game, with both a collectible and tactical element to the Sacrifice mechanic. The book provides information about the monsters, so that the sacrifices can be chosen appropriately to match their weaknesses. The possibility of hundreds of different sacrifices increases the likelyhood of replaying the levels to get more items.

Soul Sacrifice is like Pokémon crossed with a Clive Barker horror movie and an brawler action game. Look for it to arrive Spring 2013.
More GR previews for this game:
Soul Sacrifice preview posted on 03/31/13.
Tags:   E3, Sony, Vita, Keiji Inafune
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Soul Sacrifice