More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Soul Sacrifice Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
06/09/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Marvelous AQL, Japan Studio 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Nothing says action gaming like the ritual sacrifice of a rock.


Keiji Inafune's new Playstation Vita game Soul Sacrifice's story opens, literally, with the opening of the Necronomicon from the Evil Dead series of movies; the book is modeled exactly after the book of dead in the film series right down to its ghastly eyes and mouth in the cover. In the game, though, it's the journal of a sorcerer, and the protagonist, who is doomed to be sacrificed himself, reads it and relives the experiences of the sorcerer himself.



Sacrifice is key to the story and gameplay. When preparing for a mission, the player can fill six slots with sacrificial items (of which there will be hundreds to choose from) that can be used to generate attacks. These attacks range from nature-based attacks that will wrap vines and roots around the enemy; to electric shockwaves; to the sacrifice of a rock, which turns the lead character into a boulder than can do a charge attack at the enemy; and, to attacks derived from the lead character's own blood that turn his right arm into a massive meat-club. These sacrificial items eventually wear out, and can no longer be used in combat, so it's important to use them at the right time.

Fallen enemies can be saved or sacrificed. This decision ultimately yields different powers and also introduces a morality component to the gameplay, something that Inafune was very interested in, according to Kumi Yuasa, the Sony Associate Producer on-hand to answer questions. As you save or sacrifice enemies (or companions) they affect your physical appearance. Enemies were once humans, but then performed too many sacrifices and became monsters. This aspect of the game comes even more into play with bosses. As bosses take more damage, they begin to unburden themselves of their psychological issues, allowing you to see the humans within the monsters.



Choosing to save a fallen boss returns them to human form, while sacrificing them nets you more sacrificial powers; both have ramifications outside of the fight. When I saved a fallen boss, my companion who had been fighting with me, turned on me and attacked; apparently, I hadn't been ruthless enough for her taste.

Soul Sacrifice has a novel approach to an action game, with both a collectible and tactical element to the Sacrifice mechanic. The book provides information about the monsters, so that the sacrifices can be chosen appropriately to match their weaknesses. The possibility of hundreds of different sacrifices increases the likelyhood of replaying the levels to get more items.

Soul Sacrifice is like Pokémon crossed with a Clive Barker horror movie and an brawler action game. Look for it to arrive Spring 2013.
More GR previews for this game:
Soul Sacrifice preview posted on 03/31/13.
Tags:   E3, Sony, Vita, Keiji Inafune

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Soul Sacrifice


More On GameRevolution