More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Soul of the Ultimate Nation Preview

Duke_Ferris By:
Duke_Ferris
03/28/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE MMORPG 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Webzen 
DEVELOPER Webzen 
RELEASE DATE  

Rising from the far east.


If you think World of Warcraft has lured America's youth into a massively multiplayer otherworld, you simply have no idea what it's like in Korea. Years before anyone had even heard of WoW, the Korean game Lineage had over 7 million active subscribers, turning relatively unknown developer NCsoft into a billion-dollar monster. PC Bangs, essentially gaming-friendly internet cafés ("bang" is Korean for "room"), dot the landscape, and have become one of the main social gathering places for Korean teenagers. Gaming has gone global, though, and with World of Warcraft invading Korea and China, it's only fair that the trade route goes both ways.

click to enlargeEnter Soul of the Ultimate Nation (or SUN) from Webzen. With beta testing already underway in Korea, this MMO is planning to invade Europe and North America later this year.

SUN tries to break from the pack by putting an epic story back into the MMORPG, though it's typical of Korean MMOs in that it's a little confusing. The realm of Blandis is ruled by the nefarious Emperor Schwarz, but he hasn't always been evil. Betrayed by his brother Oswald and left to die in the bottom of a deep ravine, he breathes in the land's "ether" and is resurrected by what sounds like the Dark Side of the Schwarz. As the land is consumed and corrupted, you must ally with the sexy rebel leader Indus and see this story through to its conclusion.

Instead of creating a character, SUN takes a console game approach by giving you a strict choice of four: The Dragon Knight, Berserker, Elementalist, and Valkyrie. Each plays an important role in the fight against Schwarz, a plot that gains momentum during the game's various quests. You can have up to five characters on a server.

click to enlargeMuch like Guild Wars, the cities are truly massively multiplayer while everything else in the game is "instanced," meaning exploration and combat occurs in small, private groups. Unlike Guild Wars, though, SUN gives its players a great deal of control over the instances. You can set the size and difficulty of the area, determine who is allowed in, how loot is distributed, and whether PvP combat will be allowed. It's almost like setting up your own hosted map of Battlefield 2 or Halo, but with swords and axes instead of guns and grenades.

The battle system seems mostly point and click, hack and slash, but with plenty of Korean influence in the art style, expect enormous upgradeable swords, over-the-top armor with plenty of horns and spines, and thongs and chain-mail bikinis for the girls. Korea sure is kinky.

At any rate, you won't have to wait long as SUN plans to rise September 2006.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Soul of the Ultimate Nation


More On GameRevolution