More Reviews
REVIEWS ONE PIECE Unlimited World Red Review
"Unlimited World Red"? More like "Sorta Limited Town and Extended Areas... Red. And Blue. And Some Yellow."

Magic 2015: Duels of the Planesw Review
Flirting with disaster year after year, Duels of the Planewalkers has unfortunately overplayed its hand.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Hand of Fate Preview
Dungeons & Dragons mixed with the Batman: Arkham series... wait, what?!
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Sacred 3
Release date: 08/05/14

Hohokum
Release date: 08/12/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14


LATEST FEATURES Women in the World of Villainy: Achieving the 50/50 Split
We're getting more women in our video games narratives, but why do men still make up the majority of enemies?

The Four Remaining Halo 2 Multiplayer Maps That Deserve a Remake
The Master Chief Collection is getting a total of six remade multiplayer maps from Halo 2 and we know two of them already.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

Sound Shapes Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
07/26/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Music 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony Computer Entertainment 
DEVELOPER Queasy Games 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

Play That Funky Music, Game Boy.


I realized that we've got a bit of a problem here at GameRevolution. The absolute best the PlayStation Vita has to offer hasn't been previewed yet here! Blasphemy! I'm not talking aboutt Uncharted's handheld outing, Golden Abyss, or even LittleBigPlanet. If the music-gaming genre hopes to survive, it had better double down on Jonathan Mak and Shaw-Han Liem.

They're the designers at Quesy Games behind Sound Shapes, a side-scrolling, platforming, music-making, user-generating charmer of a handheld game. It's hard to describe Sound Shapes in words, and even harder in screenshots, so roll the trailer below to get a better idea of what I'm about to describe.


In Sound Shapes, you control a little sticky ball, like the kind you'd throw against a pane of glass, the kind that rolls slowly down one suction cup at a time like a lumbering spider. As you traverse levels, you pick up notes. This musical loot takes the place of coins, or stars, or whatever you want to call it. Each note you pick up builds the soundtrack until you gather a cheerful, electronic-inspired melody, bassline, and rhythm.

Sound Shapes has a certain visual flair to match its musical stylings, with the protagonist sticky ball and the environment grooving and flexing with each beep, bloop, and blop. Whether you're bounding off of platforms or dropping to the ground level, the sound design will inevitably set the timing for each action, as you yourself begin to fit into a musical puzzle.


Easily the most important and intriguing part of Sound Shapes is the user-creation mode. Literally at your fingertips is the entire designer toolset. Every instrument, percussion piece, and bassline is usable in creating your levels.

When I played the game at E3, I focused on laying out a piece of music I wanted to hear first. I started with several notes, creating a melody. The height at which I placed each note determined its pitch. Putting notes closer together meant stringing several into a wind chime sound. Manipulating notes with the front touch panel of the PlayStation Vita was easy and the tech was responsive. It was almost like putting notes to sheet music. Still, I was apprehensive about designing a level where the stick ball could reach all of my music.

I've never been one for generating my own levels and content. I just don't have the patience or spark for it, but something about Sound Shapes was inherently different by design. Instead of a complicated toolbox, filled with pieces I'd never use and even more options I'd ignore, the game simply let my brain work without clutter.

I could select different geometric shapes to place in my level. Using the rear touch panel to move and stretch and rotate each shape was a snap. Something in my brain clicked and the barrier between myself and level disappeared. I started laying down geometry quickly and easily, completely forgoing the Vita's face buttons. By the end, I had a level that wasn't just awesome to listen to, but fun to play as well.

Sound Shapes gives you plenty of room to work with, with none of the endless space that could intimidate lesser designers like me. What's more, interacting with music hasn't been this novel or entertaining since Harmonix introduced the world to Frequency. If there was a game I'd recommend you buy with the Vita today, it'd be Sound Shapes.
More GR previews for this game:
Sound Shapes preview posted on 03/07/12.
Sound Shapes preview posted on 12/06/11.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sound Shapes


More On GameRevolution