More Reviews
REVIEWS Pokémon Omega Ruby & Alpha Sapph Review
In some way, Pokémon and the relationships they form with their trainers wind up teaching the player something completely different than what you might suspect.

LEGO Batman 3: Beyond Gotham Review
Batman and friends team up for another Lego adventure.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES Black Friday 2014 Video Game Deals Buyer's Guide
Looking to score the most bang for your buck the day after Thanksgiving? Well look no further! Our Black Friday guide is just the tool you need.

With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Sound Shapes Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
07/26/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Music 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony Computer Entertainment 
DEVELOPER Queasy Games 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

Play That Funky Music, Game Boy.


I realized that we've got a bit of a problem here at GameRevolution. The absolute best the PlayStation Vita has to offer hasn't been previewed yet here! Blasphemy! I'm not talking aboutt Uncharted's handheld outing, Golden Abyss, or even LittleBigPlanet. If the music-gaming genre hopes to survive, it had better double down on Jonathan Mak and Shaw-Han Liem.

They're the designers at Quesy Games behind Sound Shapes, a side-scrolling, platforming, music-making, user-generating charmer of a handheld game. It's hard to describe Sound Shapes in words, and even harder in screenshots, so roll the trailer below to get a better idea of what I'm about to describe.


In Sound Shapes, you control a little sticky ball, like the kind you'd throw against a pane of glass, the kind that rolls slowly down one suction cup at a time like a lumbering spider. As you traverse levels, you pick up notes. This musical loot takes the place of coins, or stars, or whatever you want to call it. Each note you pick up builds the soundtrack until you gather a cheerful, electronic-inspired melody, bassline, and rhythm.

Sound Shapes has a certain visual flair to match its musical stylings, with the protagonist sticky ball and the environment grooving and flexing with each beep, bloop, and blop. Whether you're bounding off of platforms or dropping to the ground level, the sound design will inevitably set the timing for each action, as you yourself begin to fit into a musical puzzle.


Easily the most important and intriguing part of Sound Shapes is the user-creation mode. Literally at your fingertips is the entire designer toolset. Every instrument, percussion piece, and bassline is usable in creating your levels.

When I played the game at E3, I focused on laying out a piece of music I wanted to hear first. I started with several notes, creating a melody. The height at which I placed each note determined its pitch. Putting notes closer together meant stringing several into a wind chime sound. Manipulating notes with the front touch panel of the PlayStation Vita was easy and the tech was responsive. It was almost like putting notes to sheet music. Still, I was apprehensive about designing a level where the stick ball could reach all of my music.

I've never been one for generating my own levels and content. I just don't have the patience or spark for it, but something about Sound Shapes was inherently different by design. Instead of a complicated toolbox, filled with pieces I'd never use and even more options I'd ignore, the game simply let my brain work without clutter.

I could select different geometric shapes to place in my level. Using the rear touch panel to move and stretch and rotate each shape was a snap. Something in my brain clicked and the barrier between myself and level disappeared. I started laying down geometry quickly and easily, completely forgoing the Vita's face buttons. By the end, I had a level that wasn't just awesome to listen to, but fun to play as well.

Sound Shapes gives you plenty of room to work with, with none of the endless space that could intimidate lesser designers like me. What's more, interacting with music hasn't been this novel or entertaining since Harmonix introduced the world to Frequency. If there was a game I'd recommend you buy with the Vita today, it'd be Sound Shapes.
More GR previews for this game:
Sound Shapes preview posted on 12/06/11.
Sound Shapes preview posted on 03/07/12.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sound Shapes