More Reviews
REVIEWS Dead Rising 3 PC Review
Hack ‘n’ slash if you want.

THEATRHYTHM FINAL FANTASY CURTAI Review
Take some of the greatest tunes Square Enix has ever produced, weave them through an interesting rhythm system with a couple famous, friendly faces, then make it portable. What could possibly go wrong?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Invisible, Inc. Preview
The makers of Don’t Starve and Mark of the Ninja head into uncharted territory (again).
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Sound Shapes Preview

Eddy_DS_Fettig By:
Eddy_DS_Fettig
12/06/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Music 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony Computer Entertainment 
DEVELOPER Queasy Games 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

For all of us artsy-fartsy types.


Flower. REZ. Limbo. If the thoughts of those games turns you off, you might as well go back to your bang-bang-kaboom-FPS affairs, because Sound Shapes isn't for you. And no, it isn't a kindergarten game that asks “What sound does the ____ make?”, though I'd understand the assumption given its name. An experimental, experiential title for the Vita, it piqued my interest not so much for its similarities to games like Flower, but more for its open-ended potential for user-generated content.



Sound Shapes is a very simple conceptplayers control a sticky ball that rolls around and jumps, clinging itself to, err, clingable objects. In that regard, it plays like a 2D platformer. But the catch is that each level is a song that gets built upon as the player traverses it. As your ball touches or slides across different objects, they will create different sounds, from guitar strums to drum beats. There are some collectable rounded squares that will get tallied up at the end, and once you grab them, they will flash out beats from where they once rested. It makes for a game that feels in line with Flower and REZ, where the fun isn't inherently in completing the game but fiddling around with it, making the audio dance along with you.

I played a handful of levels that seemed to be from the game's 'campaign', and they varied in length and intensity. One involved a slower, methodical pace using gears that rotated in syncopation while another was much shorter, with imagery and sounds evocative of a violent murder. They demonstrate a surprising amount of variety and tone given the extreme simplicity of the concept.



Then, I noticed an extra menu: one where I could create my own levels. I could tinker with the instruments, place objects and collectables, and create my own beats and background music by tapping at different portions of the screen. The range of notes were restricted enough where no matter where I tapped and prodded, it still ended up sounding in harmony. The touch screen interface, when matched with the elegant simplicity of the game, makes it much easier to createand findlevels that are unique and engaging. As amazing as LittleBigPlanet is, it can be very intimidating to make something truly worthwhile, but in Sound Shapes, I don't foresee that being a problem.

If you believe that less is more, and that games can be artful, Sound Shapes will fit the bill for you. And since it'll be on PS Vita, you can even take it with you when you go to Starbucks so you can feel even more hipster sophisticated. In either case, it won't be for everyone, but for those who've been wanting to see something that isn't just another PS3 port on the Vita, Sound Shapes will strike a chord.
More GR previews for this game:
Sound Shapes preview posted on 03/07/12.
Our first game preview posted on 07/26/11.
Tags:   Sony, PS Vita

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sound Shapes


More On GameRevolution