More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Sound Shapes Preview

Eddy_DS_Fettig By:
Eddy_DS_Fettig
12/06/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Music 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony Computer Entertainment 
DEVELOPER Queasy Games 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

For all of us artsy-fartsy types.


Flower. REZ. Limbo. If the thoughts of those games turns you off, you might as well go back to your bang-bang-kaboom-FPS affairs, because Sound Shapes isn't for you. And no, it isn't a kindergarten game that asks “What sound does the ____ make?”, though I'd understand the assumption given its name. An experimental, experiential title for the Vita, it piqued my interest not so much for its similarities to games like Flower, but more for its open-ended potential for user-generated content.



Sound Shapes is a very simple conceptplayers control a sticky ball that rolls around and jumps, clinging itself to, err, clingable objects. In that regard, it plays like a 2D platformer. But the catch is that each level is a song that gets built upon as the player traverses it. As your ball touches or slides across different objects, they will create different sounds, from guitar strums to drum beats. There are some collectable rounded squares that will get tallied up at the end, and once you grab them, they will flash out beats from where they once rested. It makes for a game that feels in line with Flower and REZ, where the fun isn't inherently in completing the game but fiddling around with it, making the audio dance along with you.

I played a handful of levels that seemed to be from the game's 'campaign', and they varied in length and intensity. One involved a slower, methodical pace using gears that rotated in syncopation while another was much shorter, with imagery and sounds evocative of a violent murder. They demonstrate a surprising amount of variety and tone given the extreme simplicity of the concept.



Then, I noticed an extra menu: one where I could create my own levels. I could tinker with the instruments, place objects and collectables, and create my own beats and background music by tapping at different portions of the screen. The range of notes were restricted enough where no matter where I tapped and prodded, it still ended up sounding in harmony. The touch screen interface, when matched with the elegant simplicity of the game, makes it much easier to createand findlevels that are unique and engaging. As amazing as LittleBigPlanet is, it can be very intimidating to make something truly worthwhile, but in Sound Shapes, I don't foresee that being a problem.

If you believe that less is more, and that games can be artful, Sound Shapes will fit the bill for you. And since it'll be on PS Vita, you can even take it with you when you go to Starbucks so you can feel even more hipster sophisticated. In either case, it won't be for everyone, but for those who've been wanting to see something that isn't just another PS3 port on the Vita, Sound Shapes will strike a chord.
More GR previews for this game:
Our first game preview posted on 07/26/11.
Sound Shapes preview posted on 03/07/12.
Tags:   Sony, PS Vita

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sound Shapes