More Reviews
REVIEWS Atelier Ayesha Plus: The Alchemi Review
Atelier Ayesha Plus is a new entry in a classic-JRPG series with a pretty paintjob, but does the classic formula still hold up?

Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Kingston HyperX Cloud II Headset Review
Kingston's HyperX Cloud II is a mid-range USB Headset with an onboard sound board. So how does it sound compared to the pros?

Developer Spotlight: Kojima Productions
As we barrel toward this year's Game Developers Conference, the GR crew takes a look at some of the most talented devs in the industry.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Sound Shapes Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
03/07/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Music 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony Computer Entertainment 
DEVELOPER Queasy Games 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

Turn my beat up!


I just told a developer that I generally hated a component that makes up a large part of their game. If you ever ask me to make my own level, I'd normally react by telling you to pay me first. I can't stand the density in the toolsets developers feel they should open to gamers.

I'd much rather have a developer create something for me than create something for my peers. Regardless, Sound Shapes manages to buck this deep-rooted hatred of level creation by giving me control over the soundtrack, in addition to the rather simple levels.


Of course, the PlayStation Vita's touch panels go to great lengths to lower the difficulty I normally find in creating my own levels. Laying the brickwork is easy when you select an initial placement with the front touchscreen and then manipulate the size and orientation with the rear touch panel.

The latest build of Sound Shapes at GDC featured a wealth of new enemy types and some devilishly challenging levels. Enemies and hazards still create sounds and beats, but anything you'd like to turn a track out of can be placed as an enticing coin on the landscape.



The developers at Queasy Games are still hard at work on the title and are busy locking down even more high-profile music-industry names for the game. Deadmau5 in particular has challenged the team by providing loops, instead of blips and beats. Still, as a piece of interactive music, Sound Shapes is sure to entice the audio-inclined at all levels.

I'm still amazed that I actually want to create something in the game. When the appointment ended, they had to tear the PlayStation Vita from my hands. I'm still wondering if I could have switched it for my own Vita and walked away with my most anticipated game of 2012.
More GR previews for this game:
Our first game preview posted on 07/26/11.
Sound Shapes preview posted on 12/06/11.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sound Shapes