More Reviews
REVIEWS Wayward Manor Review
Not even the power of Neil Gaiman and The Odd Gentlemen could save this game from a fate worse than death: a terrible score.

ONE PIECE Unlimited World Red Review
"Unlimited World Red"? More like "Sorta Limited Town and Extended Areas... Red. And Blue. And Some Yellow."
More Previews
PREVIEWS Kirby and the Rainbow Curse Preview
Abandoning paint for clay, Nintendo gets crafty with Kirby once more.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Sacred 3
Release date: 08/05/14

CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14


LATEST FEATURES How Bioware Creates Romances
Bioware's games have romances where you might save the world, on the side of course.

We Absolutely Should Be Upset With Club Nintendo's Latest Elite Rewards
Surveys out the wazoo and I get a code for Dr. Luigi?
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

Sound Shapes Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
03/07/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Music 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony Computer Entertainment 
DEVELOPER Queasy Games 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

Turn my beat up!


I just told a developer that I generally hated a component that makes up a large part of their game. If you ever ask me to make my own level, I'd normally react by telling you to pay me first. I can't stand the density in the toolsets developers feel they should open to gamers.

I'd much rather have a developer create something for me than create something for my peers. Regardless, Sound Shapes manages to buck this deep-rooted hatred of level creation by giving me control over the soundtrack, in addition to the rather simple levels.


Of course, the PlayStation Vita's touch panels go to great lengths to lower the difficulty I normally find in creating my own levels. Laying the brickwork is easy when you select an initial placement with the front touchscreen and then manipulate the size and orientation with the rear touch panel.

The latest build of Sound Shapes at GDC featured a wealth of new enemy types and some devilishly challenging levels. Enemies and hazards still create sounds and beats, but anything you'd like to turn a track out of can be placed as an enticing coin on the landscape.



The developers at Queasy Games are still hard at work on the title and are busy locking down even more high-profile music-industry names for the game. Deadmau5 in particular has challenged the team by providing loops, instead of blips and beats. Still, as a piece of interactive music, Sound Shapes is sure to entice the audio-inclined at all levels.

I'm still amazed that I actually want to create something in the game. When the appointment ended, they had to tear the PlayStation Vita from my hands. I'm still wondering if I could have switched it for my own Vita and walked away with my most anticipated game of 2012.
More GR previews for this game:
Sound Shapes preview posted on 12/06/11.
Our first game preview posted on 07/26/11.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sound Shapes


More On GameRevolution