More Reviews
REVIEWS FIFA 17 Review
With Pro Evolution Soccer on its heels, can FIFA 17 keep the ball?

Bioshock: The Collection Review
Would you kindly remaster this?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Let It Die Preview
Seems like Suda51 saw Frozen, played Dark Souls, and then got the lyrics mixed up.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES FIFA 17
Release date: 09/29/16

Shu
Release date: 10/04/16

WWE 2K17
Release date: 10/11/16

Skylanders Imaginators
Release date: 10/16/16


LATEST FEATURES Top 5 Worst Video Games of All Time
Mack names and shames the worst games he's played!

Interview: AJ Styles Talks WWE 2K17, Video Games, And His Game Room
At a WWE 2K17 event, I sat down with "The Phenomenal" AJ Styles about who he's like to face in WWE, and just what he has in his personal game room.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oneshotstop
Welcome Back to the West
By oneshotstop
Posted on 08/01/16
The only thing that stops the dust is the rain. It’s a sweet reprieve, but there is no middle ground. The land is either as dry as the Betty Ford clinic, or as wet as the ocean floor. Everything can be seen from the ridge overlooking Armadillo as John Marston gently bounces along atop...

Sound Shapes Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
03/07/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Music 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony Computer Entertainment 
DEVELOPER Queasy Games 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

Turn my beat up!


I just told a developer that I generally hated a component that makes up a large part of their game. If you ever ask me to make my own level, I'd normally react by telling you to pay me first. I can't stand the density in the toolsets developers feel they should open to gamers.

I'd much rather have a developer create something for me than create something for my peers. Regardless, Sound Shapes manages to buck this deep-rooted hatred of level creation by giving me control over the soundtrack, in addition to the rather simple levels.


Of course, the PlayStation Vita's touch panels go to great lengths to lower the difficulty I normally find in creating my own levels. Laying the brickwork is easy when you select an initial placement with the front touchscreen and then manipulate the size and orientation with the rear touch panel.

The latest build of Sound Shapes at GDC featured a wealth of new enemy types and some devilishly challenging levels. Enemies and hazards still create sounds and beats, but anything you'd like to turn a track out of can be placed as an enticing coin on the landscape.



The developers at Queasy Games are still hard at work on the title and are busy locking down even more high-profile music-industry names for the game. Deadmau5 in particular has challenged the team by providing loops, instead of blips and beats. Still, as a piece of interactive music, Sound Shapes is sure to entice the audio-inclined at all levels.

I'm still amazed that I actually want to create something in the game. When the appointment ended, they had to tear the PlayStation Vita from my hands. I'm still wondering if I could have switched it for my own Vita and walked away with my most anticipated game of 2012.
More GR previews for this game:
Our first game preview posted on 07/26/11.
Sound Shapes preview posted on 12/06/11.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.



comments powered by Disqus


More information about Sound Shapes


More On GameRevolution