More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Spider-Man 3 Preview

Joe_Dodson By:
Joe_Dodson
02/22/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Treyarch 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Alcohol Reference, Animated Blood, Mild Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

These fights are boss.

Sam Raimi would like you to believe that power and responsibility are the central themes of the Spider-Man universe, but any real fan knows all that talk is just for placating parents. The real issues are web-slinging and ass-kicking; if you can do the former, you had better do the latter. And while previous Spider-Man games have certainly delivered healthy doses of web fluid, they’ve shirked on their responsibility to deliver great, violent power.

click to enlargeBut if what we recently saw at an Activision event is any indication, we may finally get the epic, comic-book-style battles we’ve been waiting for in Spider-Man 3 for the PS3 and Xbox 360. The battle we saw was a showdown between the Sandman and Spidey in the subway tunnels. Spider-Man ran up and started stuffing his usual punch, punch, kick combination down Sandman’s throat, when an X button flashed on the screen.
 
This led to Spider-Man flinging Sandman into a wall, then whipping him back with a web strand into a grand slam of an uppercut (I didn’t see Spider-Man point to left field first, but I might have missed it), followed by more context-sensitive button prompts, and several more minutes of the kind of hard-hitting, imaginative action we’ve always associated with Spider-Man’s battles.
 
I know this sounds like God of War, but when you see Spider-Man 3 in action, you’ll be reminded instead of your favorite comic books. Except, unlike on paper, battles in the game can unfold in different ways. You see, the Sandman boss fight is also a chase, and on the first attempt the presenter messed up and let him literally slip through the cracks. The second time, though, the battle looked completely different. Sure, it was in the same setting, but the context-sensitive cans of whoop-ass were different flavors.
 
click to enlargeNow, we didn’t get to play, so we can’t say exactly how the system has been integrated into the normal combat mechanics. But we can say it yields the best looking Spider-Fights we’ve ever seen, and the first ones to really harness the proportional speed and strength of a spider.
 
We also saw some run-of-the-mill street fights, where Spider-Man webbed up multiple foes and swung them into various hard, urban accoutrements, as well as a sequence involving the fancy black suit. With this thing on, Spider-Man jumps higher and moves faster, but also seems appropriately out of control. And when he fights, he visibly builds up red, glowing rage to unleash on his foes.
 
Call it spider anger or spider incensed, we don’t care, because there’s a lot we still don’t know about this game. Except for this: the boss fights fit like spandex, and should finally pack the punch you’d expect from pugilists capable of ripping cars in half. This May, with great power should come a great time. 

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Spider-Man 3