More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Spider-Man: Edge of Time Preview

Blake_Morse By:
Blake_Morse
04/05/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Beenox 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Mild Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

A tale of two friendly neighborhood Spider-Men.


The future is a blank page with words yet unwritten that no one can foretell. We cannot see the consequences our actions will have on what will come. That is, of course, unless we have a counterpart from the future who gets trapped in a time vortex during an evil scientist's attempt to travel back into the past to find and kill us. If that happens, we'd obviously be able to communicate with our future doppelganger and try to not only stop the nefarious villain from carrying out his plans, but also prevent our own premature death in the process.

[image1]That's just simple science right there. Or at least it is for a comic book superhero. And that's what Peter Parker can expect to experience alongside his 2099 version, Miguel O'Hara, in Spider-Man: Edge of Time. Although the time paradoxes of the plot may seem a little strange at first, it's being penned by Spider-Man co-creator and master comic book writer, Peter David, so you know you're in good hands (I'm a huge X-Factor fan, so I'm biased - but ya know).

While last year's Shattered Dimensions had four web-heads to choose from, this next iteration will focus on the relation between the Amazing Spider-Man and Spider-Man 2099, and will jump between the two characters as they help each other traverse through their respective era's giant Alchemex Corporation buildings. Expect to see plenty of witty quips between the two Spideys as they work with each other to make the future as bright as possible - picture-in-picture squabbles such as Miguel fending off giant robots while yelling at Peter to hurry up and destroy the giant robot-making facility to change the layout in the future. Situations and scenarios like this will be prevalent throughout the entire gameplay experience.

[image2]Much like in the last game, there will be a large focus on combat with an open-ended combo system. Both characters will have their own special abilities, such as Peter's spider sense and webs, and while Miguel lacks both of these things, he has razor sharp talons on his arms and can create a hologram of himself to distract enemies. On top of that, the 2099 Spider-Man will also revisit the flying levels from Shattered Dimensions. But what would a sequel be without a little up in the ante? In order to really put the pressure on, certain missions will need to be completed within a time limit or else the universe will implode on itself, just like when that guy touched his past self in Time Cop.

Spider-Man: Edge of Time has just been announced, so there's still much more to be discovered about the upcoming sequel to Shattered Dimensions. Rest assured, though, that there will be plenty of cameos from heroes and villains of both timelines, and there's bound to be more surprises to come as we get closer to the release date. Look for it to "thwip' its way onto store shelves in Fall 2011 on PS3 and 360.
More GR previews for this game:
Spider-Man: Edge of Time preview posted on 04/05/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Spider-Man: Edge of Time


More On GameRevolution