More Reviews
REVIEWS NBA LIVE 15 Review
Yes, NBA Live was horrible last year. But this year's entry is a vast improvement. Just give it a try.

Dungeon of the Endless Review
A roguelike that’s equal parts charming and challenging with a turn-based twist.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Vainglory Preview
Multiplayer online battle arenas have grown in popularity, yet Super Evil Megacorp hopes to give the franchise new, vibrant life on tablet. I went hands-on to find out if it can be done.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP LinksOcarina This is another article from Blistered Thumbs I wrote, back from the dead after being buried in the way-back machine. I posted this back in April of 2013, and many of the issues present seem to be prevalent right now in some cases, namely the decrees of sexism and misogony. Considering current...

Star Trek (2013) Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
03/26/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Namco Bandai Games / Paramount 
DEVELOPER Digital Extremes 
RELEASE DATE  
T What do these ratings mean?

"We have them just where they want us."

Without a doubt, I am a certifiable Star Trek noob. I know Trekkies will scream "Blasphemy!" at me for saying this, but the Mass Effect series is the "Star Trek" of my life and, dare I say, of many players my generation. This isn't to say that Star Trek was irrelevant to my childhood, as I remember flipping through cable channels and occasionally stopping to watch a spare few episodes of The Next Generation. Now that I'm older, though, I decided a few months ago that I needed to upgrade my all-around nerdiness, to pay homage to that which inspired Mass Effect in the first place. I'm currently in the fourth season of The Next Generation (don't worry, people, I'll go back to the original series too), and so in many ways, I feel that this Star Trek video game has come at just the right time.



Paramount Pictures and Digital Extremes have spared no expense in the production of this fully fledged Star Trek title; in fact, as Brian Miller, SVP of Paramount Pictures, has claimed, its three-year cycle for a movie-based game is nearly unheard of in the industry. The developers brought together the cast and crew of the Star Trek movie reboot without exceptionactors, set designers, costume designers, composer, and pretty much everyone else involved. Perhaps this was because all of them had the priviso that it was either the entire crew or none of the crew, but I think the real reason runs deeper: Perhaps more than any other franchise in existence, Star Trek deserves to have at least one stellar video game this console generation. (Yep, I even considered Superman in this assessment.)

Besides, with the strides that the Halo and Mass Effect series have made in the industry, weand Star Trek fans around the worldare more than ready for this Star Trek revival. But perhaps Trekkies are not convinced: What can a video game offer that they can't otherwise read or watch? The answer to that shouldn't be too far from one of the core themes of Star Trek in the first place: exploration. With the knowledge and talent the developers have at their fingertips, they were able to bring life to the world of New Vulcan, expand upon the Federation weaponry, flesh out the culture of the Gorn, and recreate the Enterprise with ridiculous detail and with numerous areas of the ship that fans would not be able to see otherwise. What's behind the TurboLift anyway? Well, now fans will know.



As either Kirk or Spock, players will need to perform all of the duties of a Starfleet officer. Since this is a video game, this means plenty of action sequences where Kirk and Spock will need to find cover, bring enemies down with their phasers, lob grenades, and dodge attacksanything to make sure that the Gorn doesn't get their hands on a terraforming device on New Vulcan. But the developers know better than to produce only run-and-gun sequences and call it Star Trek. In between sequences, players can explore the ship, converse with various NPCs and their fellow crew, analyze objects with their tricorder, and hack into consoles by means of a simple mini-game.

Many of these non-combat actions award extra experience points that players who don't care about exploration will miss, but of course then they won't find hidden easter eggs and journal logs, all canon to the rebooted Star Trek universe. Yep, though this video game adventure takes place between the first and second Star Trek movie, that doesn't mean this "in-between-quel" doesn't matter. Don't be surprised if Star Trek Into Darkness, releasing May 17, references something in the video game that other Trekkies don't know about.



Another important facet of the game is that it's truly cooperative, either online or local. The AI will take over as the other player if need be, but Star Trek is built for cooperative (slightly bromantic) gameplay. Spock and Kirk can pick each other up if one of them is incapacitated, and sometimes one player can disable or destroy various obstacles for the other. In one heated sequences, Spock will need to shoulder Kirk to sick bay while Kirk fires his phaser at enemies, even when he's on the sick bay table. As Kirk would say: "Not one hundred percent efficient, of course... but nothing ever is."

Board the Enterprise when Star Trek arrives on April 23, 2013 in North America and April 26, 2013 in Europe for Xbox 360, PS3, and PC.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Star Trek (2013)


More On GameRevolution