More Reviews
REVIEWS Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...

Murasaki Baby Review
When a little girl with an upside-down face finds a balloon, you better protect it from monsters!
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Star Trek (2013) Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
03/26/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Namco Bandai Games / Paramount 
DEVELOPER Digital Extremes 
RELEASE DATE  
T What do these ratings mean?

"We have them just where they want us."

Without a doubt, I am a certifiable Star Trek noob. I know Trekkies will scream "Blasphemy!" at me for saying this, but the Mass Effect series is the "Star Trek" of my life and, dare I say, of many players my generation. This isn't to say that Star Trek was irrelevant to my childhood, as I remember flipping through cable channels and occasionally stopping to watch a spare few episodes of The Next Generation. Now that I'm older, though, I decided a few months ago that I needed to upgrade my all-around nerdiness, to pay homage to that which inspired Mass Effect in the first place. I'm currently in the fourth season of The Next Generation (don't worry, people, I'll go back to the original series too), and so in many ways, I feel that this Star Trek video game has come at just the right time.



Paramount Pictures and Digital Extremes have spared no expense in the production of this fully fledged Star Trek title; in fact, as Brian Miller, SVP of Paramount Pictures, has claimed, its three-year cycle for a movie-based game is nearly unheard of in the industry. The developers brought together the cast and crew of the Star Trek movie reboot without exceptionactors, set designers, costume designers, composer, and pretty much everyone else involved. Perhaps this was because all of them had the priviso that it was either the entire crew or none of the crew, but I think the real reason runs deeper: Perhaps more than any other franchise in existence, Star Trek deserves to have at least one stellar video game this console generation. (Yep, I even considered Superman in this assessment.)

Besides, with the strides that the Halo and Mass Effect series have made in the industry, weand Star Trek fans around the worldare more than ready for this Star Trek revival. But perhaps Trekkies are not convinced: What can a video game offer that they can't otherwise read or watch? The answer to that shouldn't be too far from one of the core themes of Star Trek in the first place: exploration. With the knowledge and talent the developers have at their fingertips, they were able to bring life to the world of New Vulcan, expand upon the Federation weaponry, flesh out the culture of the Gorn, and recreate the Enterprise with ridiculous detail and with numerous areas of the ship that fans would not be able to see otherwise. What's behind the TurboLift anyway? Well, now fans will know.



As either Kirk or Spock, players will need to perform all of the duties of a Starfleet officer. Since this is a video game, this means plenty of action sequences where Kirk and Spock will need to find cover, bring enemies down with their phasers, lob grenades, and dodge attacksanything to make sure that the Gorn doesn't get their hands on a terraforming device on New Vulcan. But the developers know better than to produce only run-and-gun sequences and call it Star Trek. In between sequences, players can explore the ship, converse with various NPCs and their fellow crew, analyze objects with their tricorder, and hack into consoles by means of a simple mini-game.

Many of these non-combat actions award extra experience points that players who don't care about exploration will miss, but of course then they won't find hidden easter eggs and journal logs, all canon to the rebooted Star Trek universe. Yep, though this video game adventure takes place between the first and second Star Trek movie, that doesn't mean this "in-between-quel" doesn't matter. Don't be surprised if Star Trek Into Darkness, releasing May 17, references something in the video game that other Trekkies don't know about.



Another important facet of the game is that it's truly cooperative, either online or local. The AI will take over as the other player if need be, but Star Trek is built for cooperative (slightly bromantic) gameplay. Spock and Kirk can pick each other up if one of them is incapacitated, and sometimes one player can disable or destroy various obstacles for the other. In one heated sequences, Spock will need to shoulder Kirk to sick bay while Kirk fires his phaser at enemies, even when he's on the sick bay table. As Kirk would say: "Not one hundred percent efficient, of course... but nothing ever is."

Board the Enterprise when Star Trek arrives on April 23, 2013 in North America and April 26, 2013 in Europe for Xbox 360, PS3, and PC.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Star Trek (2013)


More On GameRevolution