More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Street Fighter X Tekken Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
06/29/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Alcohol Reference, Crude Humor, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Please do not punch the panda... too much.

I remember the moment I read about it in the news: 2010, San Diego Comic-Con, Capcom, Announcement: Street Fighter X Tekken. My initial reaction: Whaaaa???!!! How did Capcom and Namco even sign off on this?! I remember the Japan-only strategy RPG Namco X Capcom, but this is crazy talk! If this is a desperation move, then it's the weirdest, most awesomest cross-over fighting-extravaganza desperation move I've ever heard. Give me the panda now. I want to Hurricane Kick it.

(Also, that's Street Fighter “Cross” Tekken, not Street Figher “X” Tekken. It's kinda like matrix multiplication, but let's not stretch that analogy or I'll probably lose you.)


Since the crowds at E3 swarmed around the Street Fighter X Tekken stations without much wiggle room, I was pleasantly surprised to have at least a half an hour (roughly eight or so matches) with the preview build of the game, complete with two tournament sticks, at a snazzy Capcom event in San Francisco. As an avid fan of both Street Fighter and Tekken, I couldn't ask for a better way to see how Capcom has molded the Tekken characters into its Street Fighter cast. While Capcom may have an easier, though still difficult, time editing out and refining the moves of Tekken characters for Street Fighter X Tekkenas opposed to Tekken X Street Fighter where Namco has to create more than a handful of new moves for Street Fighter charactersthe title is well on its way on being a hit with both casual and hardcore fighting fans.

In essence, Street Fighter X Tekken places the Street Fighter IV engine into the Tekken Tag Tournament frame and cranks it up fairly close to Marvel vs. Capcom 3 speed. The point is still to pulverize the opposing team on a sprite-based 2D plane with 3D graphics, but as it is in Tekken Tag Tournament, matches are won by knocking out only one character and it's best out of two. This means that well-contended matches are normally twice as long as they are in Street Fighter IV (timeouts occurred often in the matches I played) and that combo strings and juggles are essential.

Luckily, practically anyone can pull of the most basic string, which like in Marvel vs. Capcom 3, consists of a continuous light, medium, heavy, and launch (that's heavy punch and heavy kick together) attack without the need for expert timing between hit windows. As usual, launchers are a huge “risk vs. reward” maneuver: If it hits, it can start a chain that inflicts massive damage and can even include another launcher attack, but if it fails to connect, your character is wide open for a counter chain. So noting the difference between actual health and recoverable health throughout the match is key, because facing an opponent that knows a crazy juggle effectively means that your health bar is chopped off by at least a fourth.


Tekken also makes an imprint in numerous ways, particularly because all of the Tekken characters shown did not have any projectiles, as they shouldn't (though Kazuya can dissipate projectiles with a sharp punch). There is word that Tekken characters can be controlled using the optional four-button input familiar for fans of the series, but we weren't able to check it out, so it remains to be seen whether it will be too jarring to switch between two control schemes.

Apart from that, it's pretty much as expected for a Street Fighter title, with grittier graphics and noticeably faster jump-ins. The normally extensive movelists for Tekken characters have been pared down to several normal combos and special attacks to fit with the roster, which currently has 14 characters (Ryu, Ken, Guile, Chun-Li, Sagat, Abel, Cammy, Marduk, King, Julia, Kazuya, Nina, Bob, and Julia).

Special attacks can be upgraded to an EX move or a charged move, super attacks use two units of the three-segmented special gauge, and the characters between developers have specific rivalries. Beyond the featured Ryu vs. Kazuya matchup (though I think Ryu vs. Jin makes more since given their Evil forms), I can see Chun-Li vs. Ling Xiaoyu, Crimson Viper vs. Nina, Ken vs. Paul, Fei Long vs. Law, Rufus vs. Bob, and Servbot vs. Gon (oh, that would be the most annoying team ever). Doesn't a Street Figher X Tekken make more sense, now?

In various interviews, Capcom has already mentioned that they would like to change the lifebars, which has an orange bar with an orange glowing overlay (not good), and that they're thinking about including Street Fighter characters outside of IV. Whatever the case may be, look out for my Abel/King team to kick a lot of cross-over ass in Street Fighter X Tekken, coming early 2012.

More GR previews for this game:
Street Fighter X Tekken preview posted on 06/29/11.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Street Fighter X Tekken