More Reviews
REVIEWS Boo Bunny Plague Review
If you think you can enjoy the definition of budget game design, this one might make you laugh.

Minimum Review
With so many shooters crowding the marketplace, it’s refreshing to see Minimum take the low-fi route through Steam Early Access.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Sunset Overdrive Co-op Is a Thrill Ride and a Half: TGS Multiplayer Hands-On
I play a co-op round of Sunset Overdrive with seven other people at the Tokyo Game Show.

Ori and the Blind Forest is Enchanting as Hell If Hell Were Magical as Shit [TGS Hands-On]
I want to protect her. It. Him. That. That thing. Ori.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137 Background: I own and have completed every entry in the Ninja Storm series, so there is inherent bias but luckily this isn’t a review. These are just my thoughts on a fun series I chose to pick up after my Dragon Ball Z Budokai days. I am also only about 3 episodes behind in the...

Strider Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
01/23/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Fantasy Violence, Mild Blood, Mild Language

What do these ratings mean?

Strider: A Transcript.

Agent: Hiryu?

Answering Machine: Hello. This is Strider Hiryu, please leave a message after the beep. *BEEEEP*

Agent: C'mon man, pick up, this is your agent. I know times have been tough, but I think I've got something for you. Remember the innovative arcade and NES games you were in in 1989, bro?Double Helix and Capcom want to bring that excitement back.
...
And it's not a guest appearance in a fighting game.

(sound of receiver being picked up.)
STRIDER: (Yawning) Y'hello. What is it, Geoff?



AGENT: Well, you're still under contract to Capcom for, you know, your entire life-

STRIDER: Got it, so it's a game.

AGENT: Not "A Game", buddy. THE GAME. Your game. Side-scrolling reboots are all the rage. 

STRIDER: Didn't we do those back with Strider Returns and Strider 2?

AGENT: Yeah, I guess if you wanna party like it's still 1999, and Strider 2 wasn't bad. (Why even bring up Strider Returns? None of us want to remember 1990, bro.) Though you've been mostly living off those fighting game returns since Marvel vs. Cap-

STRIDER: My own game, you say?

AGENT: I knew that'd perk you up. They're calling it... Strider.

STRIDER: ...Good title. 

AGENT: Right?

STRIDER: So what are we talking about here? A reboot, right? Is it following the 1989 NES game? The Arcade game? They were pretty different.

AGENT: A little from column A, a little from column B. From the NES game we want to make it so upgrades or items unlock new areas, but we want the story and setting from the arcade. Grandmaster Meio's back as your nemesis in Khazak. (They dropped the Soviet Socialist Republic bit from Khazak, since the end of the Cold War kinda nixed that one.)

STRIDER: Meio? Didn't I kill that guy in the original, in like, two hits?

AGENT: Video game magic, my man. So let's get down to details.

STRIDER: Alright.



AGENT: So just so we're clear, we love what you do. The climbing on any surface with your little scythe thing, the mechanical robotic animal companions--love how they're called "options" A, B, and C--who do special attacks, the awesome sideways flippy thing. Your plasma sword.

STRIDER: My classic moves, all back in action.

AGENT. Right... but we want you to do everything faster.

STIDER: Faster?

AGENT: Yeah, even in Strider 2 you were moving a little slow on that flip for modern gamers. And we were wondering if we could add a block-

STRIDER: Strider Hiryu does not block. EVER.

AGENT: Okay, no blocking. That means the gameplay is gonna be no hesitation, flipping over stuff and sliding and slashing and explosions. We even got some of your classic enemies, the Sisters, the Armored Dragon, which this time you've got to climb around with timing to miss being fried by exhaust ports, and some new robotic guys—they might just be guys in suits, we're not sure—like teleporting guards and Heavy troopers with wrecking balls for arms.

STRIDER: That would make more sense when they all explode after I kill them. 

AGENT: Man, in 1989 we just assumed everyone was made of gasoline. Robots, or robotic suits. The bloodless exploding enemies of the future. Let's get you suited up and into a demo to try it out.
Sounds of swordfighting, explosions, gunfire. Explosions.

STRIDER: Nice, I love the fast pace, you've just gotta go and trust your instincts. As long as you're moving, you're solid. And I can use my flip to divert where enemies will aim so I can slide and do attacks. By constantly charging my sword I double the range and strength of the attack, destroying the shields some enemies hold too. Nice skill-based gameplay touch, there, by the way.

AGENT: See, I knew you'd take to the reboot like a duck to water.



STRIDER: Are the platforms disappearing gonna be a problem? 

AGENT: Disappearing!? Are you falling through the floors!?

STRIDER: No, and I can still see them on the mini-map, but sometimes the surfaces go invisible and it's like I'm fighting in thin air. Also the load times are really long. I started keeping a book next to my kunai in my satchel. 

AGENT: Noted, I'm sure those are issues being ironed out by the guys at Double Helix. So let's talk about you again, buddy. After all, this is all for you.

STRIDER: So how do we wanna play this? How should I make my return to the spotlight?

AGENT: How about you hang glide in, just like you did in the arcade, and we'll give you that red scarf from the NES game, good visual element. From there you just do what you do, but faster and more intense. Classic. I'll send you the deets. 

STRIDER: Classic. I can do that. 

(Over coffee Hiryu reads his email, which tells him that Strider will release in February 2014 on bBox One, PS4, Xbox 360, PS3, and PC. )
More GR previews for this game:
Strider preview posted on 10/03/13.
Strider preview posted on 01/23/14.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Strider


More On GameRevolution