More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Strike Suit Zero Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
09/14/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Arcade / Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Doublesix 
DEVELOPER Born Ready Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
RP What do these ratings mean?

It was a sunny day in San Francisco.


But I was heading indoors to travel to dark space, outer regions of a colonial conflict between settled worlds and Mother Earth. The screen was full of stars and it wasn't until I got closer that I realized the afterburners of my enemies were moving about in the field of light. The enemies swarmed like wasps around my carrier ship as I gave silent pursuit.

There's an engrossing facet of Strike Suit Zero I can't quite put my finger on, something that pulled me in and gently vibrated my senses until I was so entangled in the frenetic web of enemy and friendly fighters that it took be a while to return to reality. The space shooter genre hasn't had much of the spotlight lately, but a few unique twists in the upcoming title from Born Ready Games could give it a laser shot in the arm.


Chief among these is the ability to transform your space-jet into a mech with heightened movement and weapon capabilities. As tempting as it might be, Born Ready does not allow players to zip around in Mech-mode for long, instead forcing players to manage "flux."

Flux energy is gained by destroying enemies and spent while in Mech mode. Rapid switching, speed, and persistent combat are all keys in balancing flux, the mech mode, and your maneuvers as a fighter jet. While normally I'd decry a developer who doesn't commit fully to their main gameplay draw (being a huge fighting, shooting robot in space), I think I had much more fun when I was forced to contemplate the risks and rewards of switching between my machine's two states.

Being forced to calculate how much time you have in mech before getting forced back into fighter jet form means you're always juggling gameplay systems. You're locking on to enemies with missiles and leading them with machine gun fire. Then you are under lock yourself.

Here I had to weigh two options: try to barrel roll my way out of the mess I had chasing me, or switch to mech and strafe to dodge. Opting for the latter, I quickly brought my mech's combat systems to bear on the enemy foolish enough to tail me.


The Strike Suit can be equipped with many different weapons, including a rail gun and a plasma gun, but I preferred the homing missiles. Once I had my attacker lined up, I held down the right mouse button and locked on to a horizon full of enemies. The homing missile can fire up to twenty at a time, meaning there were about to be twenty dead tangos on my screen.

But pretty space explosions can't spell death if you're too entranced by them. So I spun around and quickly fired another volley of missiles at an enemy carrier before transforming and speeding away after an enemy buzzing my own fleet.

Strike Suit Zero is clearly at its best when players realize the rhythm of combat and determine how they want to fit in with what the rest of the battlefield is doing. Scores and leaderboards will encourage players to experiment with that rhythm and figure out what works well for them.

My time with Born Ready's space-sim was short-lived, but success and defeat were drawn finely in the upper atmosphere that day. A jetline trailed between the skyscrapers before my imagination could scoop it up and flip the wings out to form a robot's shoulders. I guess I'm eager to get back to the front lines.
More GR previews for this game:
Strike Suit Zero preview posted on 09/14/12.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Strike Suit Zero