More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Super Motherload Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
03/28/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER XGen Studios 
DEVELOPER XGen Studios 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

We must never cede control of the motherload!

Minecraft seems to have jump-started an entirely new genre of cooperative and constructive play: the digging game. Super Motherload gives up to four players control over their very own Mars rover, but like if the Mars rover did nothing but dig and harvest resources… and fly… and you can upgrade it. It was clear from the outset that XGen's 2D co-op digging adventure had a lot more going on underneath the surface.

One of the developers relayed that he hopes the game receives certification from the Steam Greenlight program, and also aims to appear on the indie-friendly PlayStation family of hardware. At GDC, a PC version of the game allowed four conference-goers to use DualShock 3 controllers to play together. The D-pad allowed us to fly up, drive, and drill left, right, or down through the Martian bedrock.


Super Motherload transports players to an alternate Cold War history that sees the Soviet Union and America send mining teams to Mars for valuable resources that I assume will fuel the arms race. Of course, if I'm wrong, then Super Motherload is just a fun game you can play with friends to explore the crust of Mars, and that's okay too.

The Solarus Corporation employs and assigns you different resource requirements, and while you'll come to rely on the shop, fuel tanker, and repair bay, ultimately your exploration drives the story and action. Digging deeper and deeper without upgrading your fuel tank will devalue whatever resources you haul back to the surface because of the time you had to spend traveling back and forth. You can upgrade your drill bit, treads, propeller blade, armor, and more, but managing these systems grows more difficult with every added co-op partner.

Because everyone shares the same fuel tank, one player's eager digging can deplete everyone else's ability to harvest. If you want to maximize the money made for each dig, you need to communicate. The same can be said of densely packed mineral deposits. Bombs and TNT can breakdown these barriers, but placing them in the wrong spot will also destroy the valuable material.


Harvesting a bunch of platinum and hurriedly flying back to the surface is incredibly gratifying. Seeing your deposits tally up, upgrading a key component, and digging deep for more hooked me on a base level. It was a reassuring, relaxing rhythm. As new partners cycled in, I became the de facto foreman, barking orders and directing the excavation team back to the surface. Everyone there must have hated me; it's no wonder there was so much turnover on our Mars crew.

I left the GDC Play area and immediately voted for Super Motherload on Steam Greenlight. The developers hope they'll make it through the crowded indie showcase on the PC's most popular software platform, but it couldn't hurt if you headed over and let Valve know you dig XGen's latest.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Super Motherload


More On GameRevolution