More Reviews
REVIEWS Pokémon Omega Ruby & Alpha Sapph Review
In some way, Pokémon and the relationships they form with their trainers wind up teaching the player something completely different than what you might suspect.

LEGO Batman 3: Beyond Gotham Review
Batman and friends team up for another Lego adventure.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES Black Friday 2014 Video Game Deals Buyer's Guide
Looking to score the most bang for your buck the day after Thanksgiving? Well look no further! Our Black Friday guide is just the tool you need.

With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
04/17/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Namco Bandai 
DEVELOPER Namco Bandai 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Alcohol Reference, Crude Humor, Mild Blood, Partial Nudity, Sexual Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Let's pair up!


Despite being released more than ten years ago on PlayStation 2, Tekken Tag Tournament remains as one of my favorite fighting games merely on the basis of fun. Perhaps that's shallow of me as a critic, but I don't really care. I have too many fond memories of my friend Shannon and I playing Lei and King and kicking the crap out of Unknown. Whenever Lei would get hit, Shannon would gasp and yell “Bitch!” at the television. I lived for those moments.


Tekken Tag Tournament 2 rekindles all those fond memories, in most part because it's essentially the same game but with shinier graphics and a fuller roster. Just as a sequel should, I suppose. Except for the new luchadora Jaycee, forty-four characters leading up to and including Tekken 6 will be in the arcade version of TTT2, with an unannounced number of characters coming exclusively to the console versions. Lead Designer Katsuhiro Harada said on stage at the Namco Bandai Global Gamers Day 2012 that one of the designers for Virtua Fighter remarked that there were too many characters on the selection screen. Harada-san replied that he should worry about his own franchise.

Of course, this sequel plays exactly as you think you would. Players pick a team of two Tekken characters, fighting against another tag team until only one member is knocked out. All of the four-button inputs for combos and juggles remain intact, with the added dimension of tag switching at the press of a shoulder button. As long as your active character isn't getting his or her ass kicked, you can switch out at pretty much any time, which is particularly useful if your character is on the ground against the wall. This time around, animations for tag team throws and combos involving both characters, which effectively deteriorate recoverable health, are more abundant.



In addition to the standard tag team battles and the option for solo 1-on-1 battles, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 adds the ability for a handicapped 1-on-2 match. Similar to the same match type in Mortal Kombat reboot, the solo character has extra offensive and defensive power as well as more health (though not exactly twice the amount of health) so the fight isn't absolutely one-sided. Of course, the odds are still stacked against the solo character since any recoverable red health can't be, well, recovered. That's an advantage exclusive to tag teams.

Thankfully, Namco has added one mode beyond the expected: Fight Club. It would be deficient to describe it as a guided tutorial, since Harada-san has made it a point to make the mode something that veterans should play. Though it's primarily a mode where players can learn the finer details of Tekken, like juggles and air combos, through the eyes of a fighting robot (made by Lee), it's also where they can customize the robot to their specifications.

As you complete mini-games that test how fast you can perform specific maneuvers, your robot can add moves to its repetoire from a randomized list. It's uncertain whether you can use this robot online against other players, but it would at least seem that you can create one machine with Paul's hammer punches, Hwoarang's kicks, and King's throws... complete badass.

Tekken Tag Tournament 2 will return September 2012 for PS3 and Xbox 360.
More GR previews for this game:
Tekken Tag Tournament 2 preview posted on 04/17/12.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Tekken Tag Tournament 2