More Reviews
REVIEWS Loadout Review
What do you really expect of a shooter these days? Loadout probably already has it somewhere in gobs of gameplay, but you won’t hear me saying it’s worth your time.

Dokuro (PC) Review
Dokuro makes the jump from handheld to PC, but does it help or hinder this unusual platformer?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Magicka 2 Preview
How does that sing-along song go? "Magicka 2, Magicka 2, for the Playstation 4, and the PC, too..."
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 5
Release date: 12/31/14

Motorcycle Club
Release date: 01/01/15

Atelier Ayesha Plus: The Alchemist of Dusk
Release date: 01/14/15

Saints Row: Gat out of Hell
Release date: 01/20/15


LATEST FEATURES GameRevolution's Top 25 Xbox 360 Games - 2014 Edition
Pull yourself away from that Xbox One for a few minutes and join us as we look back on some of the very best games that graced Microsoft's last-gen console.

Yakuza 5: Good Game With a Few Pacing Problems [Hands-on Preview]
I like this, but will others be OK with the change?
MOST POPULAR FEATURES GameRevolution’s PlayStation Store Holiday Gamer Guide
Looking to download a few classics for your PlayStation hardware over the holidays? Save money, stay inside where it’s warm, and get by with these downloadable games.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP ryanbates
Gamer Love
By ryanbates
Posted on 12/19/14
When a player one meets his or her player two, it's a beautiful thing. Check out this cake my friend and GameRevolution reader Lindsey L. gave her sweetums on their two-year anniversary!   ...

Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
04/17/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Namco Bandai 
DEVELOPER Namco Bandai 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Alcohol Reference, Crude Humor, Mild Blood, Partial Nudity, Sexual Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Let's pair up!


Despite being released more than ten years ago on PlayStation 2, Tekken Tag Tournament remains as one of my favorite fighting games merely on the basis of fun. Perhaps that's shallow of me as a critic, but I don't really care. I have too many fond memories of my friend Shannon and I playing Lei and King and kicking the crap out of Unknown. Whenever Lei would get hit, Shannon would gasp and yell “Bitch!” at the television. I lived for those moments.


Tekken Tag Tournament 2 rekindles all those fond memories, in most part because it's essentially the same game but with shinier graphics and a fuller roster. Just as a sequel should, I suppose. Except for the new luchadora Jaycee, forty-four characters leading up to and including Tekken 6 will be in the arcade version of TTT2, with an unannounced number of characters coming exclusively to the console versions. Lead Designer Katsuhiro Harada said on stage at the Namco Bandai Global Gamers Day 2012 that one of the designers for Virtua Fighter remarked that there were too many characters on the selection screen. Harada-san replied that he should worry about his own franchise.

Of course, this sequel plays exactly as you think you would. Players pick a team of two Tekken characters, fighting against another tag team until only one member is knocked out. All of the four-button inputs for combos and juggles remain intact, with the added dimension of tag switching at the press of a shoulder button. As long as your active character isn't getting his or her ass kicked, you can switch out at pretty much any time, which is particularly useful if your character is on the ground against the wall. This time around, animations for tag team throws and combos involving both characters, which effectively deteriorate recoverable health, are more abundant.



In addition to the standard tag team battles and the option for solo 1-on-1 battles, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 adds the ability for a handicapped 1-on-2 match. Similar to the same match type in Mortal Kombat reboot, the solo character has extra offensive and defensive power as well as more health (though not exactly twice the amount of health) so the fight isn't absolutely one-sided. Of course, the odds are still stacked against the solo character since any recoverable red health can't be, well, recovered. That's an advantage exclusive to tag teams.

Thankfully, Namco has added one mode beyond the expected: Fight Club. It would be deficient to describe it as a guided tutorial, since Harada-san has made it a point to make the mode something that veterans should play. Though it's primarily a mode where players can learn the finer details of Tekken, like juggles and air combos, through the eyes of a fighting robot (made by Lee), it's also where they can customize the robot to their specifications.

As you complete mini-games that test how fast you can perform specific maneuvers, your robot can add moves to its repetoire from a randomized list. It's uncertain whether you can use this robot online against other players, but it would at least seem that you can create one machine with Paul's hammer punches, Hwoarang's kicks, and King's throws... complete badass.

Tekken Tag Tournament 2 will return September 2012 for PS3 and Xbox 360.
More GR previews for this game:
Tekken Tag Tournament 2 preview posted on 04/17/12.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Tekken Tag Tournament 2