More Reviews
REVIEWS Dead Rising 3 PC Review
Hack ‘n’ slash if you want.

THEATRHYTHM FINAL FANTASY CURTAI Review
Take some of the greatest tunes Square Enix has ever produced, weave them through an interesting rhythm system with a couple famous, friendly faces, then make it portable. What could possibly go wrong?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Invisible, Inc. Preview
The makers of Don’t Starve and Mark of the Ninja head into uncharted territory (again).
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Test Drive Unlimited Preview

Joe_Dodson By:
Joe_Dodson
03/17/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Atari 
DEVELOPER Eden Studios 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Language, Mild Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Somewhere over the speed limit.


When Stefan Eriksson wrecked his million-dollar Ferrari Enzo in Malibu a month ago, we were so overwhelmed by the mysterious details and bizarrely intertwined characters that we lost sight of the most crucial part of the story í¢â‚¬“ that of a man wrecking a million-dollar car going nearly three times the speed limit.

Forget the mafia connections and shady business practices - we want to wreck our million-dollar sports car going half as fast as a speeding bullet. Sadly, we don't have one, but this June we may have the next best thing in a big racer from Atari, Test Drive: Unlimited for the Xbox 360 and PC. We recently got to take the new ride for a spin and we have to say, it's as ambitious as a Swedish mobster, with similar tastes.

click to enlargeBut instead of wrecking limited-edition cars on the Pacific Coast Highway (ugh, that's so last month), you'll be smashing them into the hillsides and concrete support beams of a fully-realized replica of Oahu, Hawaii. Say hello to beautiful mansions and expensive cars, goodbye to your competition, or just "Aloha" to all three.

And hopefully, you'll do it all online, because aside from offering gorgeous graphics and sexy rides, Unlimited features the most robust and progressive set of online features since EA's ahead-of-its-time Motor City Online first revved its engines.

Online or off, the game's chassis is constructed of challenges you undertake for cash. This, in turn, is spent on new cars and new houses, which provide more storage space for your ever-expanding automobile collection. Boring, right? Well, it would be if it weren't for the unbelievable online content.

Unlimited's online world exists on dedicated world servers, just like an MMO. But instead of seeing every car and every player at once like you would in World of Warcraft, everything is instanced, like Guild Wars. So at any given time, there will only be seven other players racing around Oahu with you, and these will be regularly switching in and out.

Using filters, you can limit the cars and players that can enter your island paradise. If you spot a pal or an enemy, you can challenge them to a race, blacklist them, or lock them into your world. If you challenge, a Google Earth-style map of Oahu pops up, and you can use pointers to create a custom route for your race. The map is eerily accurate, featuring spot-on topographical details and nearly all the streets, cities, parks and notable stops in Oahu. Included in these are all manner of locations, which you can filter between and highlight with ease, then instantly travel to by simply clicking icons.

click to enlargeThe map can take you anywhere and there are lots of places to go. The island is seeded with dozens of various challenges, all of which provide instanced races to every online player. If you aren't in the mood for one of those, you can create your own challenges with the exact same tools and parameters the developers used. Once you've created one, you can set an entry fee and a prize and open it to the racing public. You receive all the fees, and the person with the fastest time gets the prize. It's self-perpetuating content and it's a great idea.

Players will also be able to join 16-member car clubs and challenge other clans to any of the various challenges for huge purses. It's an interesting guild mechanic for a racing game.

Of course, every part of a slick racer hinges on its engine, and developer Eden Studios definitely has some fine tuning to do. The framerate in the version we played was rickety, and the whole thing handled like a work in progress. Fortunately, that's what it is, and we suspect that when finished, Test Drive: Unlimited will easily make the cut.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Test Drive Unlimited


More On GameRevolution