More Reviews
REVIEWS Dead Rising 3 PC Review
Hack ‘n’ slash if you want.

THEATRHYTHM FINAL FANTASY CURTAI Review
Take some of the greatest tunes Square Enix has ever produced, weave them through an interesting rhythm system with a couple famous, friendly faces, then make it portable. What could possibly go wrong?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Invisible, Inc. Preview
The makers of Don’t Starve and Mark of the Ninja head into uncharted territory (again).
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

The Cave Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/08/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 3 
PUBLISHER Double Fine 
DEVELOPER Double Fine 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Fantasy Violence, Blood

What do these ratings mean?

So, so pretty…


Before the E3 show floor was starting to show off each developer's new wares, I'd heard about The Cave. And all I'd heard was praise, nothing negative at all. But nothing was actually said about the game itself, only that it was an amazing game to check out, even if I wasn't writing anything about it. Thankfully, the assignment was mine, and the game was only being shown behind closed doors.



I managed to get in with a handful of other writers, and we were allowed to bask in the glory that is The Cave: a throwback to the days of classic adventure titles from the mind of Ron Gilbert, the man behind such LucasArts legends as Maniac Mansion and the first two Monkey Island games. In that fashion, The Cave is a classic-style 2D adventure title with seven unique charactersonly three able to go at a timeand with everyone having their own storyline. Each of the seven also has a unique set of skills for solving puzzles, so expect to see a significant number of challenges throughout the experience.

If the basics aren't enough to interest you, the world is. In addition to everything else, each charactera knight, a scientist, a hillbilly, a time-traveller, an adventurer, a monk, and a pair of creepy twins (all walk into a bar)has their own section of the world tailored not just to their skill set, but their story as well.  The attention of detail is uncannily beautiful and really pops when each space first comes up on the screen. Combining the visual of the environments, with the Cave being the narrator (and truly a character in and of itself), the package stands up beautifully.



With three characters needed to make it through the game, the local co-op (no online play) can be up to three players deep. With each person handling another section of a particularly complex puzzle, it can start the giggles and jokes between friends to keep the atmosphere both intriguing and light (the little bit we were shown in the meeting was quite funny, as expected). This isn't just one for the nostalgics in the gaming world. Anybody looking for a deep adventure should keep their eyes peeled for future news of The Cave.

Currently, we're expecting a release date to be some time in early 2013. I wish we could get more info right this minute, but we'll just have to wait and see how this will play out, as much as I want it now!
More GR previews for this game:
The Cave preview posted on 12/10/12.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Cave


More On GameRevolution