More Reviews
REVIEWS NBA LIVE 15 Review
Yes, NBA Live was horrible last year. But this year's entry is a vast improvement. Just give it a try.

Dungeon of the Endless Review
A roguelike that’s equal parts charming and challenging with a turn-based twist.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Resident Evil Revelations 2 Preview
Capcom returns to the episodic format that entertained us in the first game of the sub series published on Nintendo 3DS and followed with a console release. What will Claire and company uncover this time?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP LinksOcarina This is another article from Blistered Thumbs I wrote, back from the dead after being buried in the way-back machine. I posted this back in April of 2013, and many of the issues present seem to be prevalent right now in some cases, namely the decrees of sexism and misogony. Considering current...

The Crew Preview

gil_almogi By:
gil_almogi
04/12/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Racing 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ivory Tower,Ubisoft Reflections 
RELEASE DATE 11/11/2014
T Contains Language, Mild Blood, Mild Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

On and off-roading. Mostly off. Way off.

Today, I had the opportunity to play a little of The Crew, Ubisoft’s upcoming racing game for next-gen consoles and PC. As someone who isn't that into racing games, I must admit I was impressed. The game uses the continental United States as its open world, and though I didn’t get to experience how vast that space really is, you can supposedly drive from coast to coast when driving freely.

The benefit of the varied map is in varying terrain. During the course of only one mission, which was a simple checkpoint race, I saw mountain highway, forest, and shallow rivers. Staunch racing sim fans may sneer at off-roading, but for those who just want to drive cars all over the country, it’s something of a visual delight. Although I witnessed my vehicle destroying fences, signposts, and camping tents, I was told that pedestrians are exceptionally lithe when confronted with your grill.

As you progress through the ranks and earn more vehicles and bonuses, you can test how each vehicle feels to get the right balance for certain missions. The controls themselves were smooth and basic. It’s mostly just accelerating and braking, but you’re provided with a recharging boost that’ll help you get a leg up on other racers so long as you know what’s over the next hill.

Sadly, I found myself drowning in lakes and the ocean a few times due to sheer recklessness. At least it was fun going down. The Crew even has a realignment button for folks like me who tend to find themselves flying off the beaten path a little too far.

Missions resemble your usual underground racer fare: escape the police, take down an opponent’s vehicle by running it off the road, and general tomfoolery. Multiplayer can be integrated into the multitude of missions, so you have plenty of ways to play with friends and foes across your platform’s respective networks.

The Crew will be out later around Q3 2014 for Xbox One, PS4, and PC.

More GR previews for this game:
The Crew preview posted on 06/16/13.
The Crew preview posted on 06/16/13.
Tags:   PS4, Xbox One, Ubisoft, PAX
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Crew


More On GameRevolution