More Reviews
REVIEWS FIFA 15 Review
After so many mentions of the World Cup, everyone must be soccer experts by now. *sarcasm* Let’s see what we can learn from FIFA 15.

D4 Review
Just another game about a time-traveling detective who deflects knives by spitting bubblegum at them as they fly through the air at full speed. Yep, just another game...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Sunset Overdrive Preview
Microsoft and Insomniac Games have created a new open-world shooter with clear influences from Jet Grind Radio. We went hands-on with the first hour of the game.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: Out Now

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP ryanbates
Respawning
By ryanbates
Posted on 09/25/14
I had planned to write something about the Borderlands series, but that will have to wait. I have something I need to get off my chest first. It's very personal, and I hope the two or three of you who follow my sparse blog will spare me this moment. I joked in my review for the bizarre...

The Crew Preview

gil_almogi By:
gil_almogi
04/12/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Racing 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ivory Tower,Ubisoft Reflections 
RELEASE DATE 11/11/2014
T Contains Language, Mild Blood, Mild Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

On and off-roading. Mostly off. Way off.

Today, I had the opportunity to play a little of The Crew, Ubisoft’s upcoming racing game for next-gen consoles and PC. As someone who isn't that into racing games, I must admit I was impressed. The game uses the continental United States as its open world, and though I didn’t get to experience how vast that space really is, you can supposedly drive from coast to coast when driving freely.

The benefit of the varied map is in varying terrain. During the course of only one mission, which was a simple checkpoint race, I saw mountain highway, forest, and shallow rivers. Staunch racing sim fans may sneer at off-roading, but for those who just want to drive cars all over the country, it’s something of a visual delight. Although I witnessed my vehicle destroying fences, signposts, and camping tents, I was told that pedestrians are exceptionally lithe when confronted with your grill.

As you progress through the ranks and earn more vehicles and bonuses, you can test how each vehicle feels to get the right balance for certain missions. The controls themselves were smooth and basic. It’s mostly just accelerating and braking, but you’re provided with a recharging boost that’ll help you get a leg up on other racers so long as you know what’s over the next hill.

Sadly, I found myself drowning in lakes and the ocean a few times due to sheer recklessness. At least it was fun going down. The Crew even has a realignment button for folks like me who tend to find themselves flying off the beaten path a little too far.

Missions resemble your usual underground racer fare: escape the police, take down an opponent’s vehicle by running it off the road, and general tomfoolery. Multiplayer can be integrated into the multitude of missions, so you have plenty of ways to play with friends and foes across your platform’s respective networks.

The Crew will be out later around Q3 2014 for Xbox One, PS4, and PC.

More GR previews for this game:
The Crew preview posted on 06/16/13.
The Crew preview posted on 06/16/13.
Tags:   PS4, Xbox One, Ubisoft, PAX
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Crew


More On GameRevolution