More Reviews
REVIEWS Dead Rising 3 PC Review
Hack ‘n’ slash if you want.

THEATRHYTHM FINAL FANTASY CURTAI Review
Take some of the greatest tunes Square Enix has ever produced, weave them through an interesting rhythm system with a couple famous, friendly faces, then make it portable. What could possibly go wrong?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Invisible, Inc. Preview
The makers of Don’t Starve and Mark of the Ninja head into uncharted territory (again).
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

The Crew Preview

Devin_Charles By:
Devin_Charles
06/16/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Racing 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ivory Tower,Ubisoft Reflections 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Road Trip!!!

So throughout the week, here at E3, I've had a chance to look at a few racing titles and have been impressed at what's been presented. Some of the major companies have returned with newer installments of titles that have become popular over the years. There has also been a great showing of smaller and less recognized companies ushering in their own games to the genre, creating just as strong of a buzz.

Now, more than ever, the importance of not just creating the newest model of game, but doing many of the same things better. Need for Speed has boasted about its open-world capabilities and what it does for the online community. So it's no surprise that, in my hands-on demo with The Crew, the immediate focus was on its open world as well. Actually, The Crew could be just a step above the rest, mostly because of the sheer size of its world. It's massive.



The premise of The Crew is to race around the United States beating challenges and earning as many points as possible. These points will be banked into your own personal pot that then turns into cash to spend on modifications to your cars, boosting certain attributes and adding better parts. It's entirely online and persistent. No more needing to wait at a load-up screen for players to join or become ready. Just pull up to a designated race marker and punch it.

One of the concepts behind the game is to keep the gameplay flee-flowing with little downtime. Sure, you don't always want to be engaged in a race, so if you want, it's fine just to drive around and check out your current city; all of which are, to no surprise, modeled after real-to-life cities. That, I must say, is one of the best features of the game. Driving through New York you'll ride past downtown, maybe hop on the Brooklyn, and you won't stop until you get to Florida. I'm sure once I get my hands on the full copy later next year, I'll drive from coast to coast (in pieces, for it takes roughly a few hours to achieve this).



Visually, most of the game is very nice to look at -- one of the better titles in the race sim genre -- from the cities to the cars. With so many titles to compete with, every small detail makes a difference. Another feature that's heavy in detail is the full customization of vehicles. Take your favorite Lamborghini and kit it out with huge dirt wheels, throw a bare bumper on the front, and hit the backroads.

The custom kitting reminds me of a cross between Transformers and Power Rangers. But nothing seems cartoony, a problem a game like this would want to avoid. It could completely take away from what you would want out of the graphics and theme, but so far so good. Some elements even call for some dramatics, like when cars plow through stationary objects such as a beach lifeguard post or running right over a suntanning beach-goer. 

There are loads and loads to do in The Crew. With modes like multiplayer, solo missions, and plenty of challenges, one could spend years still finding new areas to explore. Don't be fooled, as it's still a work in progress, but Ubisoft has a silent killer in its hands. The Crew will release in early 2014 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC.
More GR previews for this game:
The Crew preview posted on 04/12/14.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Crew


More On GameRevolution