More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity 3.0 Review
Disney Infinity 3.0 offers the first real taste of new Star Wars gaming content since the franchise was purchased by the Disney Corporation. This begs the question: Is it Han Sololicious? Or Jar Jar Bombad?

Lara Croft GO Review
Everyone’s favorite spunky spelunker goes retro for her new adventure on mobile devices. Does this blast from the past offer enough variety to stand on its own?
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Solus Project Preview
Marooned on an uninhabited world, you must survive in this gorgeous hostlie alien environment until you can call for help.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Release date: 09/01/15

Destiny: The Taken King
Release date: 09/15/15

Skylanders SuperChargers
Release date: 09/20/15

LEGO Dimensions
Release date: 09/27/15


LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Ivory_Soul
Windows 10 Review for Dummies
By Ivory_Soul
Posted on 08/11/15
After all these years, and growing up with Windows 3.1, I have seen an entire evolution of computers and software. Touch screens and large resolutions were a pipe dream just 15 years ago. Now it's the norm. Going from a Packard Bell (yes, before HP) that couldn't run 3D Ultra Mini...

The Crew Preview

gil_almogi By:
gil_almogi
04/12/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Racing 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ivory Tower,Ubisoft Reflections 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Language, Mild Blood, Mild Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

On and off-roading. Mostly off. Way off.

Today, I had the opportunity to play a little of The Crew, Ubisoft’s upcoming racing game for next-gen consoles and PC. As someone who isn't that into racing games, I must admit I was impressed. The game uses the continental United States as its open world, and though I didn’t get to experience how vast that space really is, you can supposedly drive from coast to coast when driving freely.

The benefit of the varied map is in varying terrain. During the course of only one mission, which was a simple checkpoint race, I saw mountain highway, forest, and shallow rivers. Staunch racing sim fans may sneer at off-roading, but for those who just want to drive cars all over the country, it’s something of a visual delight. Although I witnessed my vehicle destroying fences, signposts, and camping tents, I was told that pedestrians are exceptionally lithe when confronted with your grill.

As you progress through the ranks and earn more vehicles and bonuses, you can test how each vehicle feels to get the right balance for certain missions. The controls themselves were smooth and basic. It’s mostly just accelerating and braking, but you’re provided with a recharging boost that’ll help you get a leg up on other racers so long as you know what’s over the next hill.

Sadly, I found myself drowning in lakes and the ocean a few times due to sheer recklessness. At least it was fun going down. The Crew even has a realignment button for folks like me who tend to find themselves flying off the beaten path a little too far.

Missions resemble your usual underground racer fare: escape the police, take down an opponent’s vehicle by running it off the road, and general tomfoolery. Multiplayer can be integrated into the multitude of missions, so you have plenty of ways to play with friends and foes across your platform’s respective networks.

The Crew will be out later around Q3 2014 for Xbox One, PS4, and PC.

More GR previews for this game:
The Crew preview posted on 06/16/13.
The Crew preview posted on 06/16/13.
Tags:   PS4, Xbox One, Ubisoft, PAX
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Crew


More On GameRevolution