More Reviews
REVIEWS Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.

The Swapper Review
One of 2013's best indie games swaps its way to Sony platforms.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14


LATEST FEATURES An Updating List of PlayStation 4 Updates We Want
Sony and Microsoft have been updating their consoles regularly, but we wanted to share our own ideas for updating the PS4 firmware.

An Updating List of Xbox One Updates We Want
Microsoft has launched Xbox One and done its best to follow Sony's lead and its even secured some exclusive software, but we want more.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oneshotstop
Call of Duty will never be the same
By oneshotstop
Posted on 07/28/14
       We've all been there. Everyone remembers that mission. You and your partner are climbing up the mountains in the snow, striving to pull some slick clandestine operation about getting some intel on a bad guy, or something similar (because let's face...

The Evil Within Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
05/20/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action Horror 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Bethesda 
DEVELOPER Tango Gameworks 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Survival Horror: It's probably right behind you.
 
I willingly kept myself in the dark. I did not read any previews. I did not watch the American Horror Story-themed trailer. I censored myself from all things The Evil Within developed by Tango Gameworks, published by Bethesda, and conceived by one devilish Shinji Mikami (the creator of Resident Evil). All I saw was the opening teaser video that ominously looped on Vine with rotating visions of barbed wire and the scratches of a record player spinning "Air" by Sebastian Bach. Because what is torture without classical music?
 
At Bethesda's pre-E3 event in Santa Monica, I and a group of other bleary-eyed journalists were confined to a darkened room and forced to watch through twenty minutes of a hands-off demo. It starts off as a common detective case, which is a lie of course, as Detective Sebastian and his partner investigate a mental hospital filled with the fresh corpses of patients, doctors, and everyone else in between. Soon enough, the gruff, hard-bitten detective wrapped in a noir trenchcoat enters the security station, only to find a monitor showing live feed of several cops being murdered by a warped apparition in an ethereal hoodie that covers its eyes. He gasps as if he knows what the apparition is and he tries to flee the room, but it's much too late...



By his next conscious breath, he realizes that's he upside-down, his ankles tied by a loose thread, with just enough wiggle room to feel like a spring chicken on the assembly line. The smell of the rotting human carcasses surrounding him attracts swarms of flies and lures the monster to his feeding den. All that he can surmise through his blurry vision is that this hulking demon has a chainsaw and a growling appetite. Spotting the glint of a knife from a corpse hung nearby, he sways for his life. With several pushes, he grabs the blade, cuts himself loose, and falls to the tiled floor. His legs have been battered and his state is desperately low. Stealth is his only friend now.
 
Detective Sebastian is a regular cop, not a Leon Kennedy or a roided-out Chris Redfield. He can't march over to a horde of zombies and falcon punch his way out of danger. Instead, he must creep around enemies and avoid combat where he can, not expending what little ammo he can scrounge and use against any walkers with glowing eyes on its head (for target practice). Otherwise, if he's being swarmed by monsters, there's nothing better than a few handy grenades and mine traps set beside open windows that can take care of the oncoming horde.



What translates most about The Evil Within is that it's by far the best shot we have to seeing the (wonderfully evil) revival of the survival horror genre. Action horror has its place in the industry, but it's hardly a fair substitute for good ol'-fashioned survival horror. It's about conserving ammo and effectively bypassing threats the protagonist has no business fighting. It's about scaring the player psychologically without jump scares. It's about a brilliant sound design that understands the importance of silence. It's about walking down a hallway and then seeing a wave of blood crashing into the walls. It's about scaring the shit out of you with absolutely nothing.
 
The Evil Within, which as of now will only have a single-player campaign, will release for both current-gen and next-gen consoles in 2014.
More GR previews for this game:
The Evil Within preview posted on 06/12/14.
The Evil Within preview posted on 05/27/14.
The Evil Within preview posted on 04/12/14.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Evil Within


More On GameRevolution