More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

The Evil Within Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
05/20/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action Horror 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Bethesda 
DEVELOPER Tango Gameworks 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

Survival Horror: It's probably right behind you.
 
I willingly kept myself in the dark. I did not read any previews. I did not watch the American Horror Story-themed trailer. I censored myself from all things The Evil Within developed by Tango Gameworks, published by Bethesda, and conceived by one devilish Shinji Mikami (the creator of Resident Evil). All I saw was the opening teaser video that ominously looped on Vine with rotating visions of barbed wire and the scratches of a record player spinning "Air" by Sebastian Bach. Because what is torture without classical music?
 
At Bethesda's pre-E3 event in Santa Monica, I and a group of other bleary-eyed journalists were confined to a darkened room and forced to watch through twenty minutes of a hands-off demo. It starts off as a common detective case, which is a lie of course, as Detective Sebastian and his partner investigate a mental hospital filled with the fresh corpses of patients, doctors, and everyone else in between. Soon enough, the gruff, hard-bitten detective wrapped in a noir trenchcoat enters the security station, only to find a monitor showing live feed of several cops being murdered by a warped apparition in an ethereal hoodie that covers its eyes. He gasps as if he knows what the apparition is and he tries to flee the room, but it's much too late...



By his next conscious breath, he realizes that's he upside-down, his ankles tied by a loose thread, with just enough wiggle room to feel like a spring chicken on the assembly line. The smell of the rotting human carcasses surrounding him attracts swarms of flies and lures the monster to his feeding den. All that he can surmise through his blurry vision is that this hulking demon has a chainsaw and a growling appetite. Spotting the glint of a knife from corpse hung nearby, he sways for his life. With several pushes, he grabs the blade, cuts himself loose, and falls to the tiled floor. His legs have been battered and his state is desperately low. Stealth is his only friend now.
 
Detective Sebastian is a regular cop, not a Leon Kennedy or a roided-out Chris Redfield. He can't march over to a horde of zombies and falcon punch his way out of danger. Instead, he must creep around enemies and avoid combat where he can, not expending what little ammo he can scrounge and use against any walkers with glowing eyes on its head. Otherwise, if he's being swarmed by monsters, there's nothing better than a few handy grenades and mine traps set beside open windows that can take care of the oncoming horde.



What translates most about The Evil Within is that it's by far the best shot we have to seeing the (wonderfully evil) revival of the survival horror genre. Action horror has its place in the industry, but it's hardly a fair substitute for good ol'-fashioned survival horror. It's about conserving ammo and effectively bypassing threats the protagonist has no business fighting. It's about scaring the player psychologically without jump scares. It's about a brilliant sound design that understands the importance of silence. It's about walking down a hallway and then seeing a wave of blood crashing into the walls. It's about scaring the shit out of you with absolutely nothing.
 
The Evil Within, which as of now will only have a single-player campaign, will release for both current-gen and next-gen consoles in 2014.
More GR previews for this game:
The Evil Within preview posted on 04/12/14.
The Evil Within preview posted on 05/27/14.
The Evil Within preview posted on 06/12/14.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Evil Within