More Reviews
REVIEWS Wayward Manor Review
Not even the power of Neil Gaiman and The Odd Gentlemen could save this game from a fate worse than death: a terrible score.

ONE PIECE Unlimited World Red Review
"Unlimited World Red"? More like "Sorta Limited Town and Extended Areas... Red. And Blue. And Some Yellow."
More Previews
PREVIEWS Hand of Fate Preview
Dungeons & Dragons mixed with the Batman: Arkham series... wait, what?!
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Sacred 3
Release date: 08/05/14

Hohokum
Release date: 08/12/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14


LATEST FEATURES Gaming For Good: Charity for the Win
Playing video games for charity is becoming easier everyday. Livestream, join a fundraising guild, or game at your own pace. There are many different ways gamers can contribute to numerous charitable causes.

PlayStation’s Colorful Console Past and Its Bright, White Future
Sony will release the white PlayStation 4 in September, so let's take a walk through the company's hardware history.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

The Evil Within Preview

Alex_Osborn By:
Alex_Osborn
04/12/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action Horror 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Bethesda 
DEVELOPER Tango Gameworks 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

The sequel Resident Evil 4 fans always wanted.

Let's face it. The horror genre isn't what it once was, especially in the third-person action realm. Back in the early days of Resident Evil and Silent Hill, the clunky controls weren't looked at as a flaw, insomuch as a way to build tension for the player. Since that time, gameplay mechanics have been refined, and in an effort to appeal to the widest audience as possible, studios are making their horror games more action-heavy, with fast and responsive controls. Sadly, this has ripped a lot of the horror out of the experience.

Thankfully, Shinji Mikami, the brilliant and twisted mind behind the Resident Evil franchise, has stepped back up to the plate with Tango Gameworks to create The Evil Within, a game that clearly aims to bring back the magic that faded from the horror genre ever since the release of Resident Evil 4



​Speaking of which, if this can't be classified as a spiritual successor to RE4, then I don't know what possibly could be. The gritty and grainy visual style looks so much like the GameCube classic it isn't even funny. (Which is good.) Plus, the game's protagonist, Detective Sebastian Castellanos, not only looks but also moves a whole lot like Leon S. Kennedy. During a hands-off demonstration, I watched as Castellanos slowly navigated through decrepit and desolate city streets while an unsettling hum filled the air. Sound design is key to any good horror experience, and The Evil Within has it in spades. It's those subtle cues that put you on edge.

After a whole lot of exploring without much combat to speak of, Castellanos came across some horrifyingly disfigured creatures that looked an awful lot like zombies. After slowing to take aim, the player blasted away the foes with his trusty rifle. He then proceeded to burn the corpses by igniting the lifeless bodies with matches from his inventory. It was at this moment that I realized the game's slow pace only served to add to the intensity, making every action count, far from the twitch run-and-gun experience the more recent Resident Evil titles have somewhat become. 

In another section of the game, Castellanos found himself trapped in what appeared to be some sort of rundown sewer. Then came the real threat, as a horrifying figure with a box on its head started to approach, hell-bent on murdering the player. The slow and deliberate way in which "Boxhead" moved toward the Castellanos all without saying a word was disturbing to say the least.



Fortunately, the player was able to pull up the game's weapon wheel and arm himself with a crossbow, which reminded me a lot of the Torque Bow found in Gears of War. After firing an explosive arrow into the figure and barely escaping, Castellanos continued to navigate the dark hallways as the sound of banging started to fill the air. Lo and behold yet another Boxhead lie in wait, hammering on a now broken valve to fill the room with steam, making it difficult to see. At this moment, I began to feel a sense of panic well up within me as the player attempted to evade the foe and get to a safe location.

The fact that a third-person action game was able to conjure fear within me, even though I wasn't even holding the controller, is a testament to the expert design of The Evil Within. From its unnerving sound design to its slow and tension-filled mechanics, Mikami's latest will certainly please horror fans when it launches on Xbox One, Xbox 360, PlayStation 4, PS3, and PC this August.
More GR previews for this game:
The Evil Within preview posted on 06/12/14.
The Evil Within preview posted on 05/27/14.
The Evil Within preview posted on 05/20/13.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Evil Within


More On GameRevolution