More Reviews
REVIEWS Firefall Review
Repetitive gameplay makes this fall a little boring.

The Walking Dead: Season Two Review
At this point, you’re not coming back for the zombies. Let’s get down to business.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions Preview
Put up some movie glasses, because Geometry Wars is entering the third dimension.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Destiny
Release date: 09/09/14

FIFA 15
Release date: 09/23/14

Ar Nosurge: Ode to an Unborn Star
Release date: 09/23/14

Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14


LATEST FEATURES And I Was All "Hell Yeah I'll Play a New Dreamcast Game"
I just played a Dreamcast game that was released in... wait, 2014?

A Comprehensive Guide to Dealing with Controversy in the Video Game Industry
Need help wading through the latest misogyny/homophobia/racism/corruption debate in the gaming industry? Paul Tamburro’s here to help!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP samsmith614 Since game design is a business, I decided to see what's really selling well for the PS4. I did this search a week ago, and at the time, out of the top 20 bestsellers on Amazon 10 had not even been released yet. By now some have been released. But others still have not. And yet others...

The Evil Within Preview

Alex_Osborn By:
Alex_Osborn
04/12/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action Horror 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Bethesda 
DEVELOPER Tango Gameworks 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

The sequel Resident Evil 4 fans always wanted.

Let's face it. The horror genre isn't what it once was, especially in the third-person action realm. Back in the early days of Resident Evil and Silent Hill, the clunky controls weren't looked at as a flaw, insomuch as a way to build tension for the player. Since that time, gameplay mechanics have been refined, and in an effort to appeal to the widest audience as possible, studios are making their horror games more action-heavy, with fast and responsive controls. Sadly, this has ripped a lot of the horror out of the experience.

Thankfully, Shinji Mikami, the brilliant and twisted mind behind the Resident Evil franchise, has stepped back up to the plate with Tango Gameworks to create The Evil Within, a game that clearly aims to bring back the magic that faded from the horror genre ever since the release of Resident Evil 4



​Speaking of which, if this can't be classified as a spiritual successor to RE4, then I don't know what possibly could be. The gritty and grainy visual style looks so much like the GameCube classic it isn't even funny. (Which is good.) Plus, the game's protagonist, Detective Sebastian Castellanos, not only looks but also moves a whole lot like Leon S. Kennedy. During a hands-off demonstration, I watched as Castellanos slowly navigated through decrepit and desolate city streets while an unsettling hum filled the air. Sound design is key to any good horror experience, and The Evil Within has it in spades. It's those subtle cues that put you on edge.

After a whole lot of exploring without much combat to speak of, Castellanos came across some horrifyingly disfigured creatures that looked an awful lot like zombies. After slowing to take aim, the player blasted away the foes with his trusty rifle. He then proceeded to burn the corpses by igniting the lifeless bodies with matches from his inventory. It was at this moment that I realized the game's slow pace only served to add to the intensity, making every action count, far from the twitch run-and-gun experience the more recent Resident Evil titles have somewhat become. 

In another section of the game, Castellanos found himself trapped in what appeared to be some sort of rundown sewer. Then came the real threat, as a horrifying figure with a box on its head started to approach, hell-bent on murdering the player. The slow and deliberate way in which "Boxhead" moved toward the Castellanos all without saying a word was disturbing to say the least.



Fortunately, the player was able to pull up the game's weapon wheel and arm himself with a crossbow, which reminded me a lot of the Torque Bow found in Gears of War. After firing an explosive arrow into the figure and barely escaping, Castellanos continued to navigate the dark hallways as the sound of banging started to fill the air. Lo and behold yet another Boxhead lie in wait, hammering on a now broken valve to fill the room with steam, making it difficult to see. At this moment, I began to feel a sense of panic well up within me as the player attempted to evade the foe and get to a safe location.

The fact that a third-person action game was able to conjure fear within me, even though I wasn't even holding the controller, is a testament to the expert design of The Evil Within. From its unnerving sound design to its slow and tension-filled mechanics, Mikami's latest will certainly please horror fans when it launches on Xbox One, Xbox 360, PlayStation 4, PS3, and PC this August.
More GR previews for this game:
The Evil Within preview posted on 06/12/14.
The Evil Within preview posted on 05/27/14.
The Evil Within preview posted on 05/20/13.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Evil Within


More On GameRevolution