More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

The Fancy Pants Adventures Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
11/17/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platfomer 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER Over The Top Games 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

I want my own fancy pants now...


After the presentation at EA's recent November Showcase event, Nick found me and asked me what I was interested in covering. Being the old-school nerd that I am, the first thing to my mind was Fancy Pants Adventures, a throwback to the classic 2D adventures of old wrapped around a stick figure in some faaaaancy orange pants.

click to enlargeStarting out as a Flash browser-based platformer, Fancy Pants Adventures was created when developer Brad Bourne and Over the Top Games partnered up with EA to bring out their colorful, stick-figured hero to consoles. Playing through the demo really reminds me of a bunch of classic titles, from the SNES Uniracers to Ninja Gaiden, with a flair not unlike the more recent Alien Hominid (minus the guns and giant robots), all wrapped around more traditional Mario/Sonic platforming and control. It's a little slick on the pad, but there's still time to work on those issues.

It's shaping up well enough on the visuals. The environments are already crammed with details and color, which really harkens back to the Flash game roots of the game's predecessor. There were very few enemies in the levels I could romp around in, but like Fancy Pants Man, they're all animated to the nines. They are, after all, supposed to be "fancy".

click to enlargeThe folks at the demo were tight-lipped about any specifics, being that the game was there as a first-time look, but I was told there would be mini-games thrown into nearly every level via a character unique to a given environment. Only one was being shown, though: a timed high-score game based around jumping, flipping, and momentum. It was pretty thin and easy to decimate the first-time through, but it could be amusing to challenge friends to.

The animation is smooth, it reeks of nostalgia, and there are plans to bring in as much replay value as is possible with a game like this. And that package drops sometime in the Spring of 2011. Until then, there's always the original Flash game to hop-and-bop with.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Fancy Pants Adventures