More Reviews
REVIEWS Funk of Titans Review
It’s always particularly tough to find the funk of a game when it already doesn’t have much rhythm.

Citizens of Earth Review
Do you like turn-based RPGs? Do you enjoy laughter? Does your hair contain enough product to qualify you to be VP of an entire planet? If so, then you'll enjoy playing Citizens of Earth.
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt Preview
CD Projekt RED delivered hands-on of their latest installment of their HBO-like fantasy RPG. How does the monster-hunting mutant fare this go around?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES 5 Best Zelda Games of All Time
Nintendo's epic adventure series has seen many entries over the years. Here are the very best of the bunch.

Blades of Steel, NHL 94, More 90's Hockey - Old Games With Grandpa Heath
If Captain Comic were picking players for a pickup hockey game, who would be his first choice? Probably Cliff Ronning.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

The Last of Us Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/07/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER SCEA 
DEVELOPER Naughty Dog 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

What's Left Of Us.



In a world taken back by nature, Joel and Ellie are kindred spirits, surrogate father and daughter, point and counterpoint. The Last of Us represents, not just a sea change for the survival horror genre, but a genuine shift in the stars for the developers at Naughty Dog.

In an E3 demo on Wednesday, Naughty Dog's Bruce Straley was kind enough to show us another angle on the gameplay section they played on stage at their E3 press conference. For those that missed it, the stage demo for The Last of Us was the highlight of all the press conferences.



While you can easily view that playthrough for yourself above, the version we saw behind closed doors took Joel and Ellie on a slightly different path, focusing more on stealth, enemy AI, and the world that's overgrown itself twice over.

Objects in the the environment can be used to trigger dialog between the two protagonists. A movie poster elicited a dismissive response from Joel, but the genuine curiosity in Ellie showcased how the female lead has grown up in a world without order and with a heaping helping of crazed lunatics and zombie monsters.

Moving forward in the demo, the two come upon the same group of enemies and instead use stealth to get past the bulk of them. On the second floor, though, their footsteps draw the attention of three enemies.



Joel again uses the bandages, alcohol, and empty bottle, but not to create a Molotov cocktail as he does above, but to heal himself after an injury and to distract enemies with a crash in an adjacent room. Players will be able to explore every nook and cranny for supplies, or even loot them from fallen NPCs, but how they use them will vary from situation to situation.

It's up to you to carve your own path through hostile territory. While Joel could have snuck by one enemy, he decided it best to make use of the lead pipe he picked up earlier in the demo. You could shoot an enemy, choke him out, use an environmental hazard, or stab him. Joel decided the enemy's brains weren't flat enough this time.

We still don't know how Joel and Ellie were thrust together or what circumstances propel them from the quarantine zones on the East Coast to the lawless West. Still, it's the mystery that makes The Last of Us so compelling and entertaining, so watch with us as we learn more leading up to the game's 2013 release.


More GR previews for this game:
January 2013 Showcase Preview posted on 02/04/13.
The Last of Us preview posted on 05/20/13.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Last of Us