More Reviews
REVIEWS The Walking Dead: Season Two Review
At this point, you’re not coming back for the zombies. Let’s get down to business.

Five Nights at Freddy's Review
So damn scary, I had to break every ten minutes just writing this review.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Middle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor Preview
WBIE and Monolith have a new Lord of the Rings experience featuring a deep system for combat and interpersonal Orc relationships.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Madden NFL 15
Release date: Out Now

Destiny
Release date: 09/09/14

Ar Nosurge: Ode to an Unborn Star
Release date: 09/23/14

FIFA 15
Release date: 09/23/14


LATEST FEATURES inFamous: First Light Battle Arena Hints, Strategies, Tips [Stream Over]
Watch as I build out our feature of useful tactics for players in Sucker Punch's wave-based and arcade-awesome arena mode.

The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP samsmith614 Since game design is a business, I decided to see what's really selling well for the PS4. I did this search a week ago, and at the time, out of the top 20 bestsellers on Amazon 10 had not even been released yet. By now some have been released. But others still have not. And yet others...

The Last of Us Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/07/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER SCEA 
DEVELOPER Naughty Dog 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

What's Left Of Us.



In a world taken back by nature, Joel and Ellie are kindred spirits, surrogate father and daughter, point and counterpoint. The Last of Us represents, not just a sea change for the survival horror genre, but a genuine shift in the stars for the developers at Naughty Dog.

In an E3 demo on Wednesday, Naughty Dog's Bruce Straley was kind enough to show us another angle on the gameplay section they played on stage at their E3 press conference. For those that missed it, the stage demo for The Last of Us was the highlight of all the press conferences.



While you can easily view that playthrough for yourself above, the version we saw behind closed doors took Joel and Ellie on a slightly different path, focusing more on stealth, enemy AI, and the world that's overgrown itself twice over.

Objects in the the environment can be used to trigger dialog between the two protagonists. A movie poster elicited a dismissive response from Joel, but the genuine curiosity in Ellie showcased how the female lead has grown up in a world without order and with a heaping helping of crazed lunatics and zombie monsters.

Moving forward in the demo, the two come upon the same group of enemies and instead use stealth to get past the bulk of them. On the second floor, though, their footsteps draw the attention of three enemies.



Joel again uses the bandages, alcohol, and empty bottle, but not to create a Molotov cocktail as he does above, but to heal himself after an injury and to distract enemies with a crash in an adjacent room. Players will be able to explore every nook and cranny for supplies, or even loot them from fallen NPCs, but how they use them will vary from situation to situation.

It's up to you to carve your own path through hostile territory. While Joel could have snuck by one enemy, he decided it best to make use of the lead pipe he picked up earlier in the demo. You could shoot an enemy, choke him out, use an environmental hazard, or stab him. Joel decided the enemy's brains weren't flat enough this time.

We still don't know how Joel and Ellie were thrust together or what circumstances propel them from the quarantine zones on the East Coast to the lawless West. Still, it's the mystery that makes The Last of Us so compelling and entertaining, so watch with us as we learn more leading up to the game's 2013 release.


More GR previews for this game:
The Last of Us preview posted on 05/20/13.
January 2013 Showcase Preview posted on 02/04/13.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Last of Us


More On GameRevolution