More Reviews
REVIEWS LEGO Batman 3: Beyond Gotham Review
Batman and friends team up for another Lego adventure.

This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

The Sims 3 Pets Preview

Alex_Chelini By:
Alex_Chelini
07/27/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Simulation 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER EA 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Crude Humor, Sexual Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Just like having real pets…if you could control them.


The Sims 3: Pets offers a slew of new features, allowing players’ Sims to own and interact with a variety of highly-customizable controllable pets. It’s the perfect addition to The Sims for animal lovers and also for people who don’t want to put up with lots of poop and dander in real life. Virtual pets are hypoallergenic!



Pets can now be controlled by the player, and they can have a variety of personality traits as their Sim owners do. This new feature allows you to create digital versions your own beloved pets or make the pets you wish you had (like ones that don’t pee where they shouldn’t). They now have lifetime ambitions to fulfill, as well as wants and fears. Pets can also build relationships with each other and the Sims around them through many new interactions, and they can even start their own families. This means, of course, that your pets can “WooHoo”, and their “genetics” are passed down onto their offspring. But don’t worry; they’ll go into the doghouse or someplace suitable to get busy.

The pets are as visually customizable as Sims themselves, and some truly interesting creatures can be made. No tentacles or anything like that—but pretty every aspect of your critters can be tweaked, including the colors and coat. When I was told I can indeed have pink, polka-dotted cats, I was sold. Imagine the kittens it would produce with another purple-striped cat! It’s almost too cute to bear. Speaking of cute—you’re also able to send your beloved canine out to find a date for your Sim, which is one of many new interactions available.



For the Xbox 360, there are “Mysteries” to explore with your pets, which are quests you can send them on. They’re stories within the game, and “Karma Powers” (a variety of “cheats”) can be unlocked by completing missions and getting certain achievements. My inner-little girl is most excited about the horses in the PC version of The Sims 3: Pets, since I never did get a pony for my birthday. Your Sims can build a relationship with their horses, riding them and entering competitions. Both the Sim and the horse build skills together as they interact, so the relationship can be a working one as well as personal.

This Sims 3 Pets expansion is definitely worth a gander, since it adds so much to the already complex and highly entertaining world of The Sims. There is a great balance between the real-life aspects of owning pets... and fantasy.
More GR previews for this game:
The Sims 3 Pets preview posted on 07/27/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Sims 3 Pets