More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

The Sims 3 Pets Preview

Alex_Chelini By:
Alex_Chelini
07/27/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Simulation 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER EA 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Crude Humor, Sexual Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Just like having real pets…if you could control them.


The Sims 3: Pets offers a slew of new features, allowing players’ Sims to own and interact with a variety of highly-customizable controllable pets. It’s the perfect addition to The Sims for animal lovers and also for people who don’t want to put up with lots of poop and dander in real life. Virtual pets are hypoallergenic!



Pets can now be controlled by the player, and they can have a variety of personality traits as their Sim owners do. This new feature allows you to create digital versions your own beloved pets or make the pets you wish you had (like ones that don’t pee where they shouldn’t). They now have lifetime ambitions to fulfill, as well as wants and fears. Pets can also build relationships with each other and the Sims around them through many new interactions, and they can even start their own families. This means, of course, that your pets can “WooHoo”, and their “genetics” are passed down onto their offspring. But don’t worry; they’ll go into the doghouse or someplace suitable to get busy.

The pets are as visually customizable as Sims themselves, and some truly interesting creatures can be made. No tentacles or anything like that—but pretty every aspect of your critters can be tweaked, including the colors and coat. When I was told I can indeed have pink, polka-dotted cats, I was sold. Imagine the kittens it would produce with another purple-striped cat! It’s almost too cute to bear. Speaking of cute—you’re also able to send your beloved canine out to find a date for your Sim, which is one of many new interactions available.



For the Xbox 360, there are “Mysteries” to explore with your pets, which are quests you can send them on. They’re stories within the game, and “Karma Powers” (a variety of “cheats”) can be unlocked by completing missions and getting certain achievements. My inner-little girl is most excited about the horses in the PC version of The Sims 3: Pets, since I never did get a pony for my birthday. Your Sims can build a relationship with their horses, riding them and entering competitions. Both the Sim and the horse build skills together as they interact, so the relationship can be a working one as well as personal.

This Sims 3 Pets expansion is definitely worth a gander, since it adds so much to the already complex and highly entertaining world of The Sims. There is a great balance between the real-life aspects of owning pets... and fantasy.
More GR previews for this game:
The Sims 3 Pets preview posted on 07/27/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Sims 3 Pets