More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

The Sims 3 Supernatural Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
08/06/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Simulation 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER Maxis 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Crude Humor, Sexual Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Human Sims are so passé.


The Sims 3 Supernatural should be a phenomenal expansion for Twilight fans. Finally, I can create a fanfiction household with Bella, vampire Edward, and werewolf Jacob, make Bella gain a full love meter for both Edward and Jacob, have Edward and Jacob brawl, force Edward to impregnate Bella, and while their passion smolders in this carefully crafted love triangle... I burn the house down. Alternatively, I can create a household with a lonely boy named Harry who suddenly learns that he has magical powers and with his first wand... he burns the house down. Thanks folks, I'll be here all week.



But in all seriousness, I do a lot more in The Sims 3 than arson (I swear) and the upcoming The Sims 3 Supernatural hopes to keep fans enticed with a focus on the occult. The main upgrade for this expansion is the ability to create supernatural Sims, particularly the vampire and ghost, right out of the gate without needing to die or be bitten. This also gives players the ability to use the create a Sim to customize their look for the first time.

Of course, the vampire and the ghost are not the center of attention, as they've already been in prior expansions. The Sims 3 Supernatural brings the werewolf, fairy, and wizard to the fray (so that you can play out the Being Human fantasy you've always dreamed about). Each new class has their own magical abilities, many of which mimic regular karma powers if they're performed successfully. Where wizards can learn and cast spells, fairies can impart "gifts" which are more likely to be prankster curses and affect Sims around them with auras that can speed up skill-learning or alleviate stress.



This opens up new opportunities for wishes and new lifetime rewards like Immortality for vampires, Hand-Casting for wizards who don't want to be burdened by wands, and Alpha Wolf for werewolves who like to frighten their neighbors with terrifying howls. With the new in-game lunar cycle, werewolves have urges to transform during full moons, under which there's already a high chance of paranormal activity like zombie uprisings and general lunacy.

Like a cat, werewolves can also go out and hunt for specific items, an ability that is incredibly useful for the new Alchemy skill that allows Sims to brew magical potions from a variety rare ingredients. As you might expect, these potions can practically replace cheat codes if they are brewed correctly.

The Sims 3 Supernatural has been slated for a September 4 release this year for PC.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Sims 3 Supernatural