More Reviews
REVIEWS Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.

Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

The Sims Medieval Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
08/16/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Virtual Life 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER The Sims Studio 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Crude Humor, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Hanging on to outdated imperialist dogma which perpetuates the economic and social differences in our society.


Turning the Sims universe on its head, The Sims Medieval casts you peasants into the godly directorial role of transforming a lowly plot of land in the Middle Ages into a legendary kingdom of might and lore. Rather than controlling a single Sim from birth into adulthood, you are in charge of a full court of Sims who must forthwith work in tandem to make their kingdom worthy enough to be mentioned future encyclopedia entries to be read by thy Sims' progeny.

click to enlargeJust from the initial hands-off demonstration that at this year's showcase at EA Redwood Shores, The Sims Medieval feels akin to a slower-paced, Civ-like real-time strategy game, except that it focuses only on one civilization: yours. Like Civilization, the object is to build a kingdom that has extraordinary military might, technology, or religious faith. Completing quests in step-by-step tasks, like curing the king's sickness by collecting herbs and applying leeches, accrues kingdom points that reflect the general strength and influence of your monarchy.

Each building has a particular function: the castle houses the royal family, the knights, and the spy; the towers hold the wizard and the physician; and the cloister is home to two fictitious religious institutions. One religion bolsters its numbers through fearmongering while the other does so through gentler but less powerful means of persuasion, so you'll have to decide which end justifies your means more.

Moreover, each building is a fixed structure. That is, you can't alter the construction of a building like you can in regular The Sims titles, but you can act as the interior designer and change the objects within it. So if you think the king needs to find his queen, it would be best to double the size of his, ahem, mattress.

click to enlargeThe limit on building customization, though, means that the set pieces look hand-crafted and supple in a hand-painted way - bubbling brooks, lazy windmills, sturdy trees, a blue sky. Clichés, yes, but would you have it any other way? Even the character models have a rosy blush, a romantic smoothness to their faces that matches a period of chivalry and arcane beauty. And to keep up with Sim pretenses, any created character must have two positive characteristics and one fatal flaw.

Then again, this is the Middle Ages, a time of The Plague, man-eat-man, prisoners of war, uncleaniness, and torture for the whole family. Someone showing disrespect to the king might end up in a pillory and become the target of thrown tomatoes. Or the horrors of jeering, oh my!

Following the island survival scenario in The Sims Castaway, Electronic Arts uses the versatility of The Sims franchise as a means to explore a fantastical genre. Through the fine art of role-play, The Sims Medieval hopes to transport you to a land once upon a time when it arrives this spring 2011.
More GR previews for this game:
The Sims Medieval preview posted on 08/16/10.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Sims Medieval