More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

The Unfinished Swan Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
05/02/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Giant Sparrow 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Take me on a Journey.


I would gladly take like... a million more Journeys. Give me more games where the depth of the experience completely blows away any issues I had with the brevity. That's probably why Sony has decided to pick up The Unfinished Swan for release via the PSN.

Way back in 2009, at the first GDC I had ever attended, I quickly found that the indie games were the only ones willing to talk to a writer who was only there with some blog they'd never heard about. One of those developers was what would become Giant Sparrow, and the project they were showing was what would become The Unfinished Swan.


 
The hook here is that players will start off in a completely white world, with no button prompts or guides to speak of. Designer Ian Dallas explained that more often than not, players will panic and hit random buttons. That's when they realize that they can throw huge gobs of black paint at their surroundings.

This will reveal the environment and where players should be heading in pursuit of their goal. All of this was present way back in 2009, so I asked the devs exactly why we haven't heard of an admittedly very neat gameplay trick.

"Most of the time was spent looking for a narrative, something to hook players into the world and motivate them to explore," Dallas said. Certainly once you'd painted the room black, you'd need something else to move on to, right? That's when The Unfinished Swan's storybook sensibilities kicked in.

Players take on the role of a child, whose mother used to paint constantly. When she died, the child was forced to choose just one painting to take with him to the orphanage. Players first take control after the boy wakes up one day to find that painting missing.

That painting, of course, is The Unfinished Swan. When players escape the no-frills box they start the game in, they quickly discover that there's a very natural environment outside. Dallas explained that first-person shooter players tend to drench their surroundings with black paint, eager to map out exactly where they are.

More thoughtful players will be rewarded when a vantage point gives them the opportunity to reflect on their journey so far. All of this makes great sense from a development standpoint, but I asked Dallas what he would say to those first-person shooter players who'd write off the storybook aesthetic prematurely.

 


"This game is mature in the sense that Journey is mature," Dallas replied. "We don't want to reveal too much because it would definitely ruin the experience, much like knowing late stages of Journey would ruin that experience for players before they start."

The Unfinished Swan is certainly inviting, and it's nice to see a gameplay mechanic I remembered so vividly brought to life with a narrative that sounds like it will complement the stark visuals. Sony and Giant Sparrow are aiming for a 2012 relaese to capitalize on how the ground-breaking Journey has done so far this year. We'll keep you informed as its launch nears.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Unfinished Swan


More On GameRevolution