More Reviews
REVIEWS Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!

Funk of Titans Review
It’s always particularly tough to find the funk of a game when it already doesn’t have much rhythm.
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

Nintendo Downloads January & February 2015 - After Burner, LEGO, Indie Games
Every week, Nintendo updates the eShop on both Wii U consoles and 3DS handheld devices. We'll bring you the list here.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

The Unfinished Swan Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
05/02/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Giant Sparrow 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Take me on a Journey.


I would gladly take like... a million more Journeys. Give me more games where the depth of the experience completely blows away any issues I had with the brevity. That's probably why Sony has decided to pick up The Unfinished Swan for release via the PSN.

Way back in 2009, at the first GDC I had ever attended, I quickly found that the indie games were the only ones willing to talk to a writer who was only there with some blog they'd never heard about. One of those developers was what would become Giant Sparrow, and the project they were showing was what would become The Unfinished Swan.


 
The hook here is that players will start off in a completely white world, with no button prompts or guides to speak of. Designer Ian Dallas explained that more often than not, players will panic and hit random buttons. That's when they realize that they can throw huge gobs of black paint at their surroundings.

This will reveal the environment and where players should be heading in pursuit of their goal. All of this was present way back in 2009, so I asked the devs exactly why we haven't heard of an admittedly very neat gameplay trick.

"Most of the time was spent looking for a narrative, something to hook players into the world and motivate them to explore," Dallas said. Certainly once you'd painted the room black, you'd need something else to move on to, right? That's when The Unfinished Swan's storybook sensibilities kicked in.

Players take on the role of a child, whose mother used to paint constantly. When she died, the child was forced to choose just one painting to take with him to the orphanage. Players first take control after the boy wakes up one day to find that painting missing.

That painting, of course, is The Unfinished Swan. When players escape the no-frills box they start the game in, they quickly discover that there's a very natural environment outside. Dallas explained that first-person shooter players tend to drench their surroundings with black paint, eager to map out exactly where they are.

More thoughtful players will be rewarded when a vantage point gives them the opportunity to reflect on their journey so far. All of this makes great sense from a development standpoint, but I asked Dallas what he would say to those first-person shooter players who'd write off the storybook aesthetic prematurely.

 


"This game is mature in the sense that Journey is mature," Dallas replied. "We don't want to reveal too much because it would definitely ruin the experience, much like knowing late stages of Journey would ruin that experience for players before they start."

The Unfinished Swan is certainly inviting, and it's nice to see a gameplay mechanic I remembered so vividly brought to life with a narrative that sounds like it will complement the stark visuals. Sony and Giant Sparrow are aiming for a 2012 relaese to capitalize on how the ground-breaking Journey has done so far this year. We'll keep you informed as its launch nears.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Unfinished Swan