More Reviews
REVIEWS LEGO Batman 3: Beyond Gotham Review
Batman and friends team up for another Lego adventure.

This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

The Witch and the Hundred Knight Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
02/20/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER NIS America 
DEVELOPER Nippon Ichi 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood, Crude Humor, Fantasy Violence, Language, Partial Nudity, Sexual Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Huh, what a violent little kind of demon-thing (s)he is.

Obviously taken from the classic tradition, the top-down gameplay of The Witch and the Hundred Knight largely consists of assigning a weapon and mashing the crap out of it. The demo had a main character that was basically a superhero, so all of the baddies were gone in one or two strikes, but the old-school pedigree came from the one boss fight I experienced: a dragged-out, pattern-busting fight out of every beat-’em-up from Double Dragon and Castle Crashers with a touch of Diablo, dipped with that trademark NISA kinkiness.



You play as the Hundred Knight, a small and big-headed (literally, not figuratively) warrior of legend with the ability to wield a variety of different weapons to deadly death-inducing death. He’s been out of the game for a little while though, but the warning doesn’t carry much weight… he’s ready for a fight, and with whatever’s available to fight with.

Not much else is available about the story; just that players will have been summoned from a hundred years of sleeping and that a witch named Metallia is involved. Witches always disturb my sleep [It takes a lot of effort to haunt you, Kevin. :p ~Ed. Nick], so I know how the little fella must feel about it.



The game's world is large, and it looks filled with a variety of environments to keep things interesting. And damn, is it pretty. The detail laced throughout make for beautiful views, from the different browns of a beaten path to the streaking autumn colors of the treetops, the wood-grain on cottage doors to the painting-like sand dunes. Every environment looks to have had a close eye attending to every nook and cranny. There are sure to be environments and characters that haven’t been shown yet, and if they keep the quality they’ve shown so far it’ll be worth the hours to reach them.

There isn’t much else to report this close to launch and it already out in Japan last year, except that The Witch and the Hundred Knight should be able to suck plenty of hours out of the ether… and whatever Bag of Holding might be lugged around by the Hundred Night on his journeys. I want to see how this one shakes out, so I’m looking forward to fighting when the game releases March 25, 2014 for PS3.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Witch and the Hundred Knight