More Reviews
REVIEWS Boo Bunny Plague Review
If you think you can enjoy the definition of budget game design, this one might make you laugh.

Minimum Review
With so many shooters crowding the marketplace, it’s refreshing to see Minimum take the low-fi route through Steam Early Access.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

The Wonderful 101 Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
06/19/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER PlatinumGames 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Alcohol Reference, Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence, Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

It's Pikmin but way crazier.

In the E3 The Wonderful 101 demo, you play as a swarm of superheroes. It feels a bit like Pikmin, in that you collect heroes (or deputize citizens) to help you fight against aliens. The collection aspect is about where the Pikmin comparison ends, though. The rest of the gameplay deals with how exactly you use the heroes you've collected.

With different gestures on the Wii U GamePad, you can call upon your heroes to turn into giant weapons to help you defeat the aliens that have attacked the city. Swipe a long straight line and you can create a sword. The longer the swipe, the more heroes it uses and the stronger it gets. Make an L-shape and you create a gun.



Context is important in battling these aliens. The sword is useful for enemies close to you, and the gun for flying or distant foes. The whip seems to do less damage but has longer reach than the sword. Though it still has a bigger sweep than the gun, a giant fist is good for clobbering and grasping things. The need to address context became even clearer when fighting the giant boss at the end.

The boss, a giant armored figure that could transform and rush you requires a more tactical approach. You've got to use the whip at first, which can briefly grapple him and tear away pieces of his armor. However, the boss charges at you frequently, and you must abandon your weapon and dash away, lest the heroes be scattered and you must gather them again before continuing to attack.



The game can be played co-op with up to five players, each with their own mob and a unique giant weapon, though this isn't all about combat. At the end of the level after defeating the boss, it was necessary to create the giant fist and use it to wind up a Ferris wheel, so that all the heroes could take a spin on it. It's this kind of delight that permeates The Wonderful 101 throughout.

The Wonderful 101 is set to release on Sept 15, 2013 on Wii U.
More GR previews for this game:
The Wonderful 101 preview posted on 10/02/12.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Wonderful 101


More On GameRevolution