More Reviews
REVIEWS Atelier Ayesha Plus: The Alchemi Review
Atelier Ayesha Plus is a new entry in a classic-JRPG series with a pretty paintjob, but does the classic formula still hold up?

Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Kingston HyperX Cloud II Headset Review
Kingston's HyperX Cloud II is a mid-range USB Headset with an onboard sound board. So how does it sound compared to the pros?

Developer Spotlight: Kojima Productions
As we barrel toward this year's Game Developers Conference, the GR crew takes a look at some of the most talented devs in the industry.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

The Wonderful 101 Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
06/19/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER PlatinumGames 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Alcohol Reference, Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence, Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

It's Pikmin but way crazier.

In the E3 The Wonderful 101 demo, you play as a swarm of superheroes. It feels a bit like Pikmin, in that you collect heroes (or deputize citizens) to help you fight against aliens. The collection aspect is about where the Pikmin comparison ends, though. The rest of the gameplay deals with how exactly you use the heroes you've collected.

With different gestures on the Wii U GamePad, you can call upon your heroes to turn into giant weapons to help you defeat the aliens that have attacked the city. Swipe a long straight line and you can create a sword. The longer the swipe, the more heroes it uses and the stronger it gets. Make an L-shape and you create a gun.



Context is important in battling these aliens. The sword is useful for enemies close to you, and the gun for flying or distant foes. The whip seems to do less damage but has longer reach than the sword. Though it still has a bigger sweep than the gun, a giant fist is good for clobbering and grasping things. The need to address context became even clearer when fighting the giant boss at the end.

The boss, a giant armored figure that could transform and rush you requires a more tactical approach. You've got to use the whip at first, which can briefly grapple him and tear away pieces of his armor. However, the boss charges at you frequently, and you must abandon your weapon and dash away, lest the heroes be scattered and you must gather them again before continuing to attack.



The game can be played co-op with up to five players, each with their own mob and a unique giant weapon, though this isn't all about combat. At the end of the level after defeating the boss, it was necessary to create the giant fist and use it to wind up a Ferris wheel, so that all the heroes could take a spin on it. It's this kind of delight that permeates The Wonderful 101 throughout.

The Wonderful 101 is set to release on Sept 15, 2013 on Wii U.
More GR previews for this game:
The Wonderful 101 preview posted on 10/02/12.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Wonderful 101