More Reviews
REVIEWS Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.

The Swapper Review
One of 2013's best indie games swaps its way to Sony platforms.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14


LATEST FEATURES Interview: Forging the Rings of Power in Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor
Tolkien fans may now either squeal with glee at getting to play interactive fanfiction... or condemn it to the watery grave of Numenor.

How Bioware Creates Romances
Bioware's games have romances where you might save the world, on the side of course.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

The Wonderful 101 Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
06/19/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER PlatinumGames 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Alcohol Reference, Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence, Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

It's Pikmin but way crazier.

In the E3 The Wonderful 101 demo, you play as a swarm of superheroes. It feels a bit like Pikmin, in that you collect heroes (or deputize citizens) to help you fight against aliens. The collection aspect is about where the Pikmin comparison ends, though. The rest of the gameplay deals with how exactly you use the heroes you've collected.

With different gestures on the Wii U GamePad, you can call upon your heroes to turn into giant weapons to help you defeat the aliens that have attacked the city. Swipe a long straight line and you can create a sword. The longer the swipe, the more heroes it uses and the stronger it gets. Make an L-shape and you create a gun.



Context is important in battling these aliens. The sword is useful for enemies close to you, and the gun for flying or distant foes. The whip seems to do less damage but has longer reach than the sword. Though it still has a bigger sweep than the gun, a giant fist is good for clobbering and grasping things. The need to address context became even clearer when fighting the giant boss at the end.

The boss, a giant armored figure that could transform and rush you requires a more tactical approach. You've got to use the whip at first, which can briefly grapple him and tear away pieces of his armor. However, the boss charges at you frequently, and you must abandon your weapon and dash away, lest the heroes be scattered and you must gather them again before continuing to attack.



The game can be played co-op with up to five players, each with their own mob and a unique giant weapon, though this isn't all about combat. At the end of the level after defeating the boss, it was necessary to create the giant fist and use it to wind up a Ferris wheel, so that all the heroes could take a spin on it. It's this kind of delight that permeates The Wonderful 101 throughout.

The Wonderful 101 is set to release on Sept 15, 2013 on Wii U.
More GR previews for this game:
The Wonderful 101 preview posted on 10/02/12.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Wonderful 101


More On GameRevolution