More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Theatrhythm Final Fantasy Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
05/15/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Music Action 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Square Enix 
DEVELOPER Indies Zero 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Fantasy Violence, Mild Blood, Mild Language, Suggestive Themes, Use of Tobacco

What do these ratings mean?

I was wrong, but I'm too happy to care.


If you had asked me two weeks ago whether or not Theatrhythm was a worthwhile endeavor for Square Enix as a publisher or you as a gamer, I would have performed my patented evil laugh. Who gives a shit about Final Fantasy anymore?

Unfortunately for my ego, I was proven wrong last night when I got to play Theatrhythm at a Pre-E3 judges event. The Nintendo 3DS exclusive that puts the venerable soundtrack of every major Final Fantasy release at your fingertips is actually a lot of fun.


All of the memorable battle and character themes you could hope for are playable in an Elite-Beat-Agents-inspired role-playing adventure. The demo I played featured a ready-for-retail build of Theatrhythm. I went with two favorites in my limited time.

The Final Fantasy VII soundtrack suite allowed me to play through Aeris's Theme and a battle montage. The characters I controlled proceeded to explore the world or fight familiar faces with every tap, dash, and hold.

As confusing as it might look, the gameplay itself is stupidly intuitive, as it switches styles throughout a game's sound suite. In the first section I tapped, dashed, and dragged my stylus up and down the bottom touchscreen as a wave of icons flew by. In the next section, my four party members took turns attacking, as hold notes, taps, and dashes flew down four separate bars. In the final section, I directed the track around the screen as a cinematic played in the background.


Again, how is this fun? This sounds like a complete waste of time, and in a way, that's exactly what it is. Theatrhythm seems like an almost idealistic time waster, providing edible 15 minutes of fun. If Theatrhythm can make me shut out the other games I was surrounded by last night, I think it'll do just fine at the dentist's office or on the bus.

I played the Final Fantasy VI (III, whatever) suite next and tripped hard on nostalgia. What is it about these now classic game soundtracks that can bring a smile to even the most cynical gamer's face? You couldn't pay me to play a Final Fantasy game today, but Theatrhythm has quickly risen to the top of my 3DS preorder list.

Combining tons of memorable tracks, a cute art style, and about as much Final Fantasy my addled brain can handle makes Theatrhythm more enjoyable than I could have imagined. Check it out on the Nintendo 3DS when it lands July 3rd.
Tags:   Square Enix
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Theatrhythm Final Fantasy


More On GameRevolution