More Reviews
REVIEWS Atelier Ayesha Plus: The Alchemi Review
Atelier Ayesha Plus is a new entry in a classic-JRPG series with a pretty paintjob, but does the classic formula still hold up?

Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Kingston HyperX Cloud II Headset Review
Kingston's HyperX Cloud II is a mid-range USB Headset with an onboard sound board. So how does it sound compared to the pros?

Developer Spotlight: Kojima Productions
As we barrel toward this year's Game Developers Conference, the GR crew takes a look at some of the most talented devs in the industry.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

This War of Mine Preview

gil_almogi By:
Gil_Almogi
06/13/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER 11 bit studios 
DEVELOPER 11 bit studios 
RELEASE DATE  

Experiences people actually went through.

We’ve seen plenty of zombie apocalypses and various other cataclysms, but rarely do games make us consider the real-world events that can cause a society to erupt into total anarchy. Taking inspiration from “One Year in Hell” and other stories like it, 11 Bit Studios crafted a PC game about surviving and depending on others to help you. And because of it’s randomized nature, each player will come out of it with a different story to tell.

While the actual cause of the SHTF world in This War of Mine remains obscure, each player begins the game with three survivors who have recently taken shelter in a house that’s seen better times. During the day, each person must be instructed to perform various tasks, such as exploring the house for materials, building useful tools, or just eating to survive. For example, it can be risky to eat any raw meat you find, but if you construct a small stove you can cook it and get a more satisfying and filling meal out of it.

When darkness falls, the residents can each be assigned to sleep, guard the home, or run out to scavenge. Your choices will determine if your group even survives the night. If someone is sent out to scavenge the gameplay is similar to the day, though run-ins with other survivors ensure that your scavenger may not make it back alive. Producer Marek Ziemak entered the home of an old couple, and just to demonstrate, he turned to punching the husband, causing them to run into the basement while he stole all their stuff.

I, on the other hand, foolishly started rummaging through a home occupied by a man with a gun, and he shot down my guy quickly. The following day, the other two men in the house were severely depressed by the loss, not to mention one of them was injured from a break-in that occurred on that fateful night. Along with persistent characteristics that determine each survivor’s usefulness, they develop temporary issues, such as hunger, sadness, and injury. Depression was particularly vexing, causing my two survivors to lose the will to even feed themselves.

It’ll be interesting to see where 11 Bit Studios takes This War of Mine. Compared to other survival games, where the player usually controls his own avatar, controlling three (or more) survivors, each with unique personality traits and abilities, a more dynamic narrative can emerge from in-game days of continuous play. I barely lasted six days with my fumbling around, but careful players could potentially live through years in this game's special brand of Hell.

More GR previews for this game:
This War of Mine preview posted on 09/01/14.
This War of Mine preview posted on 10/13/14.
Tags:   indie, PC, preview, E3
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about This War of Mine