More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

This War of Mine Preview

gil_almogi By:
Gil_Almogi
06/13/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER 11 bit studios 
DEVELOPER 11 bit studios 
RELEASE DATE  

Experiences people actually went through.

We’ve seen plenty of zombie apocalypses and various other cataclysms, but rarely do games make us consider the real-world events that can cause a society to erupt into total anarchy. Taking inspiration from “One Year in Hell” and other stories like it, 11 Bit Studios crafted a PC game about surviving and depending on others to help you. And because of it’s randomized nature, each player will come out of it with a different story to tell.

While the actual cause of the SHTF world in This War of Mine remains obscure, each player begins the game with three survivors who have recently taken shelter in a house that’s seen better times. During the day, each person must be instructed to perform various tasks, such as exploring the house for materials, building useful tools, or just eating to survive. For example, it can be risky to eat any raw meat you find, but if you construct a small stove you can cook it and get a more satisfying and filling meal out of it.

When darkness falls, the residents can each be assigned to sleep, guard the home, or run out to scavenge. Your choices will determine if your group even survives the night. If someone is sent out to scavenge the gameplay is similar to the day, though run-ins with other survivors ensure that your scavenger may not make it back alive. Producer Marek Ziemak entered the home of an old couple, and just to demonstrate, he turned to punching the husband, causing them to run into the basement while he stole all their stuff.

I, on the other hand, foolishly started rummaging through a home occupied by a man with a gun, and he shot down my guy quickly. The following day, the other two men in the house were severely depressed by the loss, not to mention one of them was injured from a break-in that occurred on that fateful night. Along with persistent characteristics that determine each survivor’s usefulness, they develop temporary issues, such as hunger, sadness, and injury. Depression was particularly vexing, causing my two survivors to lose the will to even feed themselves.

It’ll be interesting to see where 11 Bit Studios takes This War of Mine. Compared to other survival games, where the player usually controls his own avatar, controlling three (or more) survivors, each with unique personality traits and abilities, a more dynamic narrative can emerge from in-game days of continuous play. I barely lasted six days with my fumbling around, but careful players could potentially live through years in this game's special brand of Hell.

More GR previews for this game:
This War of Mine preview posted on 09/01/14.
This War of Mine preview posted on 10/13/14.
Tags:   indie, PC, preview, E3
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about This War of Mine