More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Time and Eternity Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
02/25/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER NIS America 
DEVELOPER Imageepock, Inc. 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood, Fantasy Violence, Mild Language, Partial Nudity, Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

At least NIS America isn't making us wait that long.

When I first saw Time and Eternity in action, I admit that I first thought, "These devs played Dragon's Lair and finally figured out how to bring good animation to a full environment."  The idea of using traditional styles of animation in games has been around for years now, but up until now those games have only ended up cel-shaded experiences… until now.

Not much information was given for the story, but here's what we know so far. The marriage of a knight and his would-be princess is interrupted by some kind of assassin squad, where the knight is mortally wounded. His princess, Toki, soon thereafter finds herself with two distinct personalities: her normal red-headed self and a blonde alter-ego, Towa.  Each of them has a unique set of skills at her disposal, with Toki preferring a long-range battle strategy with a rifle and Towa becoming the classic hand-to-hand berzerker-type. Together'cuz hey, they're sharing a body alreadythey set out to do… something. Maybe save the hubby. I dunno, it wasn't clear.



TaE is a fully-animated RPG, and when I say "fully animated" I genuinely mean that every cel of character animation is done by hand. The landscapes are in 3D, but everyone from Toki/Towa to the baddies littered throughout are everything expected from a medieval-looking animé. It's a unique choice of presentation I admit, with characters looking like cutouts taped to the screen instead of involved in the game itself. It's a striking visual style, unlike anything I've seen (since Don Bluth's masterpieces in the 1980s).

Battles are almost traditional JRPG fare. Gone are the standard menu systems, since these are active battles instead of passive fare. The left stick can charge an enemy, jump back to avoid close-range attacks, or jump to either side to avoid incoming fire. SP/Magic Points are charged up throughout a battle so special attacks can be unleashed, which gives every fight a mix of strategic RPG and traditional fighting game vibe. It's a mix with one additional twist: Every time your princess levels up, she turns into the other personality. Without one item called the "Pepper" (bringing to mind Launch, the alternating sweetheart/gun-toting lunatic from the Dragonball universe), a character can't swap between Toki and Towa, but beyond the name we don't know how that works yet.



The last bit of info we do know is when to expect Time and Eternity to see store shelves, and that's this summer in both a physical and digital release. Then we just might find out if a fiery redhead's gun is best, or if blondes do indeed have more fun (with knives, of course).
Tags:   NIS America

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Time and Eternity