More Reviews
REVIEWS Pokémon Omega Ruby & Alpha Sapph Review
In some way, Pokémon and the relationships they form with their trainers wind up teaching the player something completely different than what you might suspect.

LEGO Batman 3: Beyond Gotham Review
Batman and friends team up for another Lego adventure.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES Black Friday 2014 Video Game Deals Buyer's Guide
Looking to score the most bang for your buck the day after Thanksgiving? Well look no further! Our Black Friday guide is just the tool you need.

With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Titanfall Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
06/17/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER Respawn Entertainment 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Wrath of the Titans.
 
Take a trip down memory on the still freshly laid path of E3 2013, and you might remember Titanfall making an appearance at the E3 press conference for both Microsoft and Electronic Arts. At first glance, everyone wanted a piece of Respawn Entertainment's next title. But as a critic that favors RPGs above all else, I have the tendency to cross my arms at any bombastic announcement for Call of Duty, Battlefield, Medal of Honor, any competitive multiplayer FPS boasting how it will be the next greatest thing in gaming. So naturally I had the same reaction to Titanfall.
 
But then I saw a hands-off demo of a 7v7 multiplayer Domination match (no word on how campaign is integrated yet) at the E3 booth for Electronic Arts, and I finally understood want all the nerd-rage was about. Mechs. Lots of mechs. One for every player on the battlefield. In a destructible environment where mechs rule and can crush puny humans beneath their gargantuan feet. And above all, insatiable speed.


 
Most mech games tend to have lumbering quality to them, which makes all the sense in the world, but Titanfall doesn't stop for anyone. Soldiers sprint from one point to the next, free-running on the side of walls like ninjas, shooting bullets that can curve from a Smart Pistol, and falling from any height without damage. Once your Titan mech is ready, you can call for its deployment and watch as it roars down from the sky like a bolt of metallic lightning. The Titans themselves are highly maneuverable, have incredible firepower, and can be used as a lift to a higher ledge, in case you want to flank some unsuspecting opponents from above.
 
While this might lead you to believe that the mechs are overpowered, soldiers and other mechs are quite of taking yours out, in ten seconds if you're not careful. A soldier's Sidewinder is a rapid-fire rocket launcher specifically designed to take down mechs, and rival mechs have the same access to cannons, 40mm rifles, and Vortex Blockers as yours does. Although It doesn't take too long for your Titan to be repaired once it's out of commission, much of your success in multiplayer will be determined by how long you can maintain your Titan from utter destruction.


 
That said, if you believe your mech is about to sustain too much damage, you can hit the eject button, soar through the air away from the self-destruct explosion, and start raining bullets at the poor souls below. Of course, they can shoot your body as falls to the planet, so don't get too comfortable up there.
 
But that's the point: rapid, constant, furious action. It's a tenet that Vince Zampella, co-founder for Infinity Ward, understands and something that Microsoft covets for its next-gen platform. So it's no wonder that Titanfall is currently an Xbox 360 and Xbox One exclusive slated for release for Q1 2014.
More GR previews for this game:
Titanfall preview posted on 08/30/13.
Titanfall preview posted on 09/19/13.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Titanfall