More Reviews
REVIEWS Fantasia: Music Evolved Review
Harmonix's rhythm game based on the Sorceror's Apprentice provided a fun experience of arm-wavy controlling goodness. It also made me want to play Rock Band again.

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel Review
Borderlands: The-Prequel promises the moon, but does it even get off the ground?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: Out Now

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 7 Problems With Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMIX [Hands-on Preview]
For the last time, Aqua, NO I will not go out with you! (Yes, yes I will, actually.)

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Titanfall Preview

Heath_Hindman By:
Heath_Hindman
09/19/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 12 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER Respawn Entertainment 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Major Nelson would say "Discussion over!" at this point, but it's not actually that simple.

Titanfall is a first-person shooter that adds wall running and double jumping to the combat, making for some really wacky parkour gunfighting opportunities. But in my play time, no one really used them. We all had our double jumps, sure, but we were never doing the insane stuff that the trailers and instructional videos had been practically begging us to attempt during my 40-minute wait on line.

Trying new things is all well and good, but trying new things when someone has a gun pointed at you and is licking his chops waiting for you to fail... can be scary, even when it's just a demo. I imagine seasoned players will be operating much differently. Today, though, all of us involved were fairly mired in the ways of, well, not running up the sides of buildings and backflipping off of shit.


I was thrown into a four-on-four deathmatch and went about my usual routine of trying to be the least bad player at the show. Each player begins as a pilot—armed but on foot. Eventually (I feel like this was based on a countdown) each will be given a chance, though not simultaneously, to enter and operate a mech suit called a Titan.

The early stages of a Titanfall deathmatch resemble most other FPS multiplayer bouts, but takes a turn when mechs start dropping—or, sorry, when Titans start falling. Some infantry soldiers have skills or weapons that can be effective in destroying the metallic giants, but these big bad Titans are overall a thing for the regular fighter to fear. When I was in my Titan, for example, I was making a habit of shooting my missiles right at the ground in front of my enemies and watching their corpses fly through the air.
 
That's not to say the pilots were utterly defenseless against the heaping Titans, though. When the roles were reversed and I found myself on foot taking on a huge robot, I could hold my own if I kept my tactics careful and placed some rockets well.


 
Eventually, we were given a message that our team had won! But the game was not over. After the decision is made, the losing team must retreat to a loading zone for evacuation, while the winning team can score bonuses by killing fleeing enemies.
 
More time with Titanfall, and therefore more time to get a firm grasp on all that fancy jumpery hoohah, could mean an increasingly fun, unique shooter experience indeed. I like multiplayer shooting, but for me, it's usually in single-player modes. I own a bunch of FPS games that I don't play online. Titanfall's TGS demo, however, has me keeping a passive eye on this multiplayer-only shooter.

Everything of course handled well and looked amazing: It's the kind of PC game that Microsoft wishes it could say was also appearing on Xbox hardware.
 
I know that it's announced for Xbox One (yeah, yeah), but I'm going to tease anyway, because we were all playing this game with Xbox 360 controllers plugged into PC towers... that had giant Xbox One logos behind them.
More GR previews for this game:
Titanfall preview posted on 06/17/13.
Titanfall preview posted on 08/30/13.
Tags:   Xbox One, PC
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Titanfall


More On GameRevolution