More Reviews
REVIEWS Firefall Review
Repetitive gameplay makes this fall a little boring.

The Walking Dead: Season Two Review
At this point, you’re not coming back for the zombies. Let’s get down to business.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Nosgoth Preview
What do you get when you mix vampires and vampire hunters? Three-on-three class-based combat in the Legacy of Kain universe.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Destiny
Release date: 09/09/14

FIFA 15
Release date: 09/23/14

Ar Nosurge: Ode to an Unborn Star
Release date: 09/23/14

Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14


LATEST FEATURES And I Was All "Hell Yeah I'll Play a New Dreamcast Game"
I just played a Dreamcast game that was released in... wait, 2014?

A Comprehensive Guide to Dealing with Controversy in the Video Game Industry
Need help wading through the latest misogyny/homophobia/racism/corruption debate in the gaming industry? Paul Tamburro’s here to help!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP samsmith614 Since game design is a business, I decided to see what's really selling well for the PS4. I did this search a week ago, and at the time, out of the top 20 bestsellers on Amazon 10 had not even been released yet. By now some have been released. But others still have not. And yet others...

Titanfall Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
06/17/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 12 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER Respawn Entertainment 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Wrath of the Titans.
 
Take a trip down memory on the still freshly laid path of E3 2013, and you might remember Titanfall making an appearance at the E3 press conference for both Microsoft and Electronic Arts. At first glance, everyone wanted a piece of Respawn Entertainment's next title. But as a critic that favors RPGs above all else, I have the tendency to cross my arms at any bombastic announcement for Call of Duty, Battlefield, Medal of Honor, any competitive multiplayer FPS boasting how it will be the next greatest thing in gaming. So naturally I had the same reaction to Titanfall.
 
But then I saw a hands-off demo of a 7v7 multiplayer Domination match (no word on how campaign is integrated yet) at the E3 booth for Electronic Arts, and I finally understood want all the nerd-rage was about. Mechs. Lots of mechs. One for every player on the battlefield. In a destructible environment where mechs rule and can crush puny humans beneath their gargantuan feet. And above all, insatiable speed.


 
Most mech games tend to have lumbering quality to them, which makes all the sense in the world, but Titanfall doesn't stop for anyone. Soldiers sprint from one point to the next, free-running on the side of walls like ninjas, shooting bullets that can curve from a Smart Pistol, and falling from any height without damage. Once your Titan mech is ready, you can call for its deployment and watch as it roars down from the sky like a bolt of metallic lightning. The Titans themselves are highly maneuverable, have incredible firepower, and can be used as a lift to a higher ledge, in case you want to flank some unsuspecting opponents from above.
 
While this might lead you to believe that the mechs are overpowered, soldiers and other mechs are quite capable of taking yours out, in ten seconds if you're not careful. A soldier's Sidewinder is a rapid-fire rocket launcher specifically designed to take down mechs, and rival mechs have the same access to cannons, 40mm rifles, and Vortex Blockers as yours does. Although It doesn't take too long for your Titan to be repaired once it's out of commission, much of your success in multiplayer will be determined by how long you can maintain your Titan from utter destruction.


 
That said, if you believe your mech is about to sustain too much damage, you can hit the eject button, soar through the air away from the self-destruct explosion, and start raining bullets at the poor souls below. Of course, they can shoot your body as falls to the planet, so don't get too comfortable up there.
 
But that's the point: rapid, constant, furious action. It's a tenet that Vince Zampella, co-founder for Infinity Ward, understands and something that Microsoft covets for its next-gen platform. So it's no wonder that Titanfall is currently an Xbox 360 and Xbox One exclusive in the console war (though it will be available on PC as well) and is slated for release for Q1 2014.
More GR previews for this game:
Titanfall preview posted on 09/19/13.
Titanfall preview posted on 08/30/13.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Titanfall


More On GameRevolution