More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Titanfall Preview

Heath_Hindman By:
Heath_Hindman
09/19/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 12 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER Respawn Entertainment 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Major Nelson would say "Discussion over!" at this point, but it's not actually that simple.

Titanfall is a first-person shooter that adds wall running and double jumping to the combat, making for some really wacky parkour gunfighting opportunities. But in my play time, no one really used them. We all had our double jumps, sure, but we were never doing the insane stuff that the trailers and instructional videos had been practically begging us to attempt during my 40-minute wait on line.

Trying new things is all well and good, but trying new things when someone has a gun pointed at you and is licking his chops waiting for you to fail... can be scary, even when it's just a demo. I imagine seasoned players will be operating much differently. Today, though, all of us involved were fairly mired in the ways of, well, not running up the sides of buildings and backflipping off of shit.


I was thrown into a four-on-four deathmatch and went about my usual routine of trying to be the least bad player at the show. Each player begins as a pilot—armed but on foot. Eventually (I feel like this was based on a countdown) each will be given a chance, though not simultaneously, to enter and operate a mech suit called a Titan.

The early stages of a Titanfall deathmatch resemble most other FPS multiplayer bouts, but takes a turn when mechs start dropping—or, sorry, when Titans start falling. Some infantry soldiers have skills or weapons that can be effective in destroying the metallic giants, but these big bad Titans are overall a thing for the regular fighter to fear. When I was in my Titan, for example, I was making a habit of shooting my missiles right at the ground in front of my enemies and watching their corpses fly through the air.
 
That's not to say the pilots were utterly defenseless against the heaping Titans, though. When the roles were reversed and I found myself on foot taking on a huge robot, I could hold my own if I kept my tactics careful and placed some rockets well.


 
Eventually, we were given a message that our team had won! But the game was not over. After the decision is made, the losing team must retreat to a loading zone for evacuation, while the winning team can score bonuses by killing fleeing enemies.
 
More time with Titanfall, and therefore more time to get a firm grasp on all that fancy jumpery hoohah, could mean an increasingly fun, unique shooter experience indeed. I like multiplayer shooting, but for me, it's usually in single-player modes. I own a bunch of FPS games that I don't play online. Titanfall's TGS demo, however, has me keeping a passive eye on this multiplayer-only shooter.

Everything of course handled well and looked amazing: It's the kind of PC game that Microsoft wishes it could say was also appearing on Xbox hardware.
 
I know that it's announced for Xbox One (yeah, yeah), but I'm going to tease anyway, because we were all playing this game with Xbox 360 controllers plugged into PC towers... that had giant Xbox One logos behind them.
More GR previews for this game:
Titanfall preview posted on 06/17/13.
Titanfall preview posted on 08/30/13.
Tags:   Xbox One, PC
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Titanfall


More On GameRevolution