More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Tomb Raider (2013) Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/05/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Square Enix 
DEVELOPER Crystal Dynamics 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M What do these ratings mean?

It sounded more like Dead Space than it did Tomb Raider.


It was the strangest thing. I was sitting in this weird, poolside cabana thing, surrounded by nerds, and I couldn't get over what I just saw. Lara Croft was just shot in the head. She was strangled. She had the shit kicked out of her.

It wasn't until the third or fourth try that she finally got all the moves right. She kicked her psychotic attacker in the nuts, tore off his ear, pushed him over, and shot him in the groin. He still wouldn't let up, but after a brief struggle, Lara managed to point the gun at his face, instead of the other way around.

Sure, this was just a quick-time event at the end of a lengthy Tomb Raider demo, but the violent, visceral nature was almost too much to comprehend. What happened to the girl with the dual pistols?


Seriously, what has Crystal Dynamics done with her, because what I played three weeks ago had nothing to do with the Lara Croft I thought I knew. The reboot from Square Enix and company gives players the opportunity to completely shape Lara in an origin story that sees her transform from a weak, naïve little girl into a real raider. Last year, Crystal Dynamics revealed that Lara was the passenger of a crashed ship, left to survive on a mysterious island. The E3 2012 demo picks up almost immediately after this, with Lara making a tentative inroad on the island.

Here, we got some hands-on time with the basics: The bow and arrow will be used throughout the game, traversal is just as important as combat, and campfires allow you to recharge your batteries and upgrade Lara's skills, in addition to moving the story forward. A large cast of characters join Lara on the island, although it's up to the player to figure out who to trust. She'll have to hunt game to survive, but the bigger threat is the population of crazies inhabiting the island Lara's crashed on.


One section in this early demo required Lara to explore and upgrade one of her tools before proceeding through a gate and up the mountain. Lara can leap over gaps and swing on deliberately placed lamps. Using a torch, our heroine can solve puzzles and gather materials for her upgrade.

Her seemingly easy alliance with another survivor, though, quickly turned to betrayal as a band of homicidal maniacs set upon the duo. Captured and bound, Lara made an opportunity out of a small distraction and tried to escape. Automatically ducking behind cover and surveying the walking paths of enemies, Lara made her way up the hill and away from the crazies.

Of course, none of that progress mattered when she was discovered and held at gunpoint. It might have just been a quicktime event, but the level of absolute terror on screen jumped out at me for a number of reasons. Lara Croft was somehow twisting and belying her sexual icon status. She would be raped, murdered, and left to rot on this island, if not for the player's inputs. The vulnerable, doe-eyed youngster transforms in front of us, but not into the Tomb Raider we've known for over a decade.



Instead, Crystal Dynamics seem to be truly rebooting the character for the better, for the gruesome, for the future. I can't see Lara Croft's journey ending at the hands of some depraved soul, so I made sure to press every necessary button and shoot that mother f***er in the face.

Tomb Raider will be arriving Q1 2013.


FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Tomb Raider (2013)


More On GameRevolution