More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Torchlight II Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
09/04/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action RPG 
PLAYERS 1- 6 
PUBLISHER Runic Games 
DEVELOPER Runic Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T What do these ratings mean?

If it looks like Diablo, smells like Diablo, sounds like Diablo, it might just be Torchlight II.


Torchlight II is everything the first Torchlight wanted to be, now that Runic Games has the resources and fan base to be not only inspired by Blizzard's Diablo franchise, but to rival it. In other words, I have three words: Six-Player Multiplayer! I think I just made myself drool.

Indeed, for old-school Diablo players, Torchlight II potentially represents the traditional style of the dungeon crawling genre and the more consumer-friendly side of the coin with no real-money auction house, LAN support, mod support through Steamworks, and a one-time purchase of $19.99. That's an incredible bargain, given that it's one-third the cost of Diablo II when it first released in 12 years ago. Amazing how time flies, doesn't it?



Torchlight II expands upon the its predecessor in several significant ways, the first being the introduction of four acts, each with its own area and part in the overarching storyline. The addition of multiple hub towns and randomized dungeon areas naturally extends the campaign, while the consistent change in scenery and high frequency of randomly occurring events keeps the gameplay fresh.

As opposed to the original's class offering of Destroyer, Alchemist, and Vanquisher, this sequel provides four options: a heavy melee, drone-supported Engineer; a primal, animal-channeling Berserker; a magic-wielding Embermage; and a roguish, nomadic Outlander. Similar to Borderlands 2, all four characters are ready for multiplayer right out of the gate and will encounter the previous class types as NPCs, particularly The Alchemist who destroys the town of Torchlight at the start of the game after becoming corrupted by Ordrak. The story will be told through voiced dialogue and cut-scenes surprisingly produced by Klei Entertainment, which is known for their cel-shaded prowess with Shank and Mark of the Ninja.



The undeniable experience Runic Games learned from the first Torchlight can be seen in all of the minortweaks. In the past, pets can be sent back to town with excess loot and return with gold; now they can be called back during their trip in case you need them immediately and they can shop at stores for basic items like health and mana restore items if you're running low. If fishing makes you impatient, you can throw a stick of dynamite to get some quick items, and basic swings of a greatsword or hammer can deliver damage to multiple targets at once within the weapon's range. Also, if those red and blue orbs in the screenshots annoy you too much, you can place them in the middle if you prefer; that's just one of many HUD elements that can be altered this time around.

Torchlight II will be completely ready in about two weeks, releasing September 20 for PC through Steam and Perfect World, and for Mac at a later time. There's no word yet whether the Xbox 360 and PS3 will receive the same treatment, but it shouldn't be too far out of reach if the PC version sells enough copieson that note at least, I believe that it will.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Torchlight II


More On GameRevolution