More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Total War: Rome II Preview

Jonathan_Leack By:
Jonathan_Leack
06/12/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER SEGA 
DEVELOPER Creative Assembly 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Alcohol Reference, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Rome wasn’t built overnight.


If you enjoy epic battles you’ve surely heard of Rome: Total War. It was not only regarded as a top game of 2004, but to this day is one of the most well-received RTS of all-time. Releasing a sequel to such a game is no easy task, but The Creative Assembly doesn’t shy away from such a challenge.



Rome 2: Total War advances the franchise by improving each facet in important ways. Its map is far more expansive, making the historically defined world a pleasure to experience. All new details on the world map show valuable information at a glance; you can even see buildings constructed in your thriving cities. For those looking for eye candy, an increase in graphical fidelity gives rise to a splendorous depiction of war that the History Channel will certainly use for its documentaries.

But it isn’t just visual realism that makes Rome 2: Total War a legitimate successor to one of RTS’ most legendary. Its diverse new feature set makes strategy outside of conflicts a fun and rewarding way to play campaign. An improved diplomatic system provides an array of options, like assassinating leaders, which open up new opportunities. But you better be careful as failed attempts can lead to war. The revamped political system encourages you to maintain strong relationships with other nations.



Engaging in Rome 2: Total War’s warfare is a familiar affair with a laundry list of options for controlling your army. Control groups, variable-direction plotting, and a large list of units, each with strengths and weaknesses, mean you always have something to do. But that also means this is a challenging game to play. You’ll find yourself overwhelmed by the plethora of options. As with other games in the series proper utilization of units is critical. If you’re really here for what Total War is known for, though, that shouldn’t bother you.

The Creative Assembly waited almost 10-years to bring Rome: Total War back and for good reason. This isn’t an IP to be tampered with. The long wait ensured there would be new ways to improve the core game without making it feel forced, and Rome 2: Total War feels and looks the part of a proper successor. It will release on PC on September 3, 2013.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Total War: Rome II


More On GameRevolution