More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Transistor Preview

Alex_Osborn By:
Alex_Osborn
03/22/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action-RPG 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Supergiant Games 
DEVELOPER Supergiant Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Violence, Mild Language

What do these ratings mean?

Gorgeous. Just gorgeous.

That's honestly the first thing that immediately came to mind when thinking back over my hands-on experience with Supergiant Games' upcoming title Transistor. And let's be real for a moment: After seeing the screenshots below, can you really blame me? This small, yet talented, development team has managed to create one of the most gorgeous and enchanting worlds I have ever explored in gaming. If you've played Bastion, the studio's prior title, this should hardly come as a surprise.

In many ways Transistor is a sort of spiritual successor to Bastion thanks to a similar look and feel. Both games feature a deep and soothing narrator who serves a prominent role is fleshing out the story. Both worlds are stunning, foreign, and intriguing all at the same time. Both combat systems are elegantly simple with each attack option mapped to a corresponding face button. See the similarities?



Now don't misunderstand me. This is an entirely new and fresh experience wholly distinct and separate from Bastion, due in part to the game's premise and protagonist. You play as Red, whobelieve it or nothas red hair and wields a massive sword called the Transistor. During my time with the demo, that was the only weapon she could use, and this could very well the the case throughout the course of the entire game.

Now before you start fretting over the game's potential for redundancy, let me explain the combat. Red can perform several different types of attacks depending on the situation. I particularly enjoyed using her devastating area-of-effect attack. There's also a dash option, allowing you to dart around enemies with ease. All of these abilities must be used strategically in order to pummel the robotic monsters that stand in your way, but you can't just go around mashing buttons haphazardly, as careful management of Red's attack points is crucial to success.



In the midst of combat, pulling the right trigger will freeze time, giving you a chance to queue up moves and freely move Red about the battlefield; however, this comes at the cost of your aforementioned pool of points. After using your allotted number of attacks, you'll need to wait to recharge, as you avoid the oncoming assault from your remaining foes.

I found the combat deeply satisfying despite the fact that it is incredibly simple. Because it is so easy to pick up and have fun with right away, there's no doubt in my mind that Transistor will be easily accessible to (and beloved by) a rather wide audience of gamers. If the jaw-dropping art style hasn't already sucked you in, I assure you that the fluid and intuitive gameplay will latch on and never let go.



The world of Transistor is an absolute delight to behold. While the game's story was lost on me during my few minutes with the demo, its aesthetic made me forget my worrires. If you're looking for an artistic showpiece that's also a complete blast to play, make a mental note to look out for Supergiant's next big thing early next year. If you forget, don't worry. We here at GameRevolution will be sure to remind you.

As of right now, we still don't know what platforms the title will release on, and early 2014 is all the developer could provide as far as a release window. For more on Transistor and all things PAX East, be sure to keep it locked to GameRevolution.
More GR previews for this game:
Transistor preview posted on 06/18/13.
IF YOU WANT TO CHAT, HIT ME UP

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Transistor


More On GameRevolution