More Reviews
REVIEWS Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.

The Swapper Review
One of 2013's best indie games swaps its way to Sony platforms.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14


LATEST FEATURES Interview: Forging the Rings of Power in Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor
Tolkien fans may now either squeal with glee at getting to play interactive fanfiction... or condemn it to the watery grave of Numenor.

How Bioware Creates Romances
Bioware's games have romances where you might save the world, on the side of course.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

UFC Undisputed 3 Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
06/08/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports / Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER THQ 
DEVELOPER Yuke's Osaka 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Not much of a comeback, as much as a beatdown.


With THQ's renewed contract with UFC and UFC grabbing Strikeforce, the main franchise in EA Sports MMA, the UFC Undisputed series is set to dominate the MMA sports genre with the crippling force of a triangle choke. THQ only showcased a 15-minute demonstration of UFC Undisputed 3, but the changes so far clearly show that the developers have been training hard for its return.

click to enlargeAccessibility has always given the franchise trouble. Even one of my roommates, who often wears a UFC cap and records every episode of The Ultimate Fighter on Spike, can't get into a UFC Undisputed title due to its intricate circular inputs for transitions. Most players tend to be methodical with furious and satisfying stand-up strikes and kicks, and then become a mess of hand seizures in the face of the slow and deliberate groundwork.

This time around, thankfully, an amateur grappling control scheme has now been made an option where the quarter- to three-eighth analog stick movements are replaced with simple up and down flicks for major and minor transitions. The trade-off is less control over the more advanced moves on the floor, like perhaps the rubber guard, but this change is what numerous players need to set even one step into the virtual octagon.

Veterans of the full analog stick controls don't have to worry, though. UFC Undisputed 3 is still at heart a deep technical fighter, even with the amateur control assist and new tips that appear during matches that will tell players about techniques that they aren't using or using enough.

click to enlargeThe submission system has been given a complete overhaul, with the assistance of fans and the test team. Instead of rotating the analog stick furiously, players move about an octagon-shaped diagram on the screen where the defending player attempts to find the attacking player around the shape. The better a fighter's submission skill, the wider the bar they have. It's essentially a mini-game of cat and mouse around an edged circle.

Though no details on the career mode were given - which will be necessary for a fuller preview since last year's career mode had players annoyingly spinning plates of attribute decay - THQ promises more fighters, more weight classes, better character models and lighting, and more customizable options for walk-in entrances. But none of those tweaks holds a lick against the introduction of Pride FC, whose square ring and Japanese rule set allow for brutal knees to the head and foot stomps.

So far, UFC Undisputed 3 easily lives up to the hype. It's slated for January 12, 2012, so check back with Game Revolution when we will have an in-depth preview and hands-on time with the game later this year. At least I'd better, or someone's goin' down.
More GR previews for this game:
UFC Undisputed 3 preview posted on 01/18/12.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about UFC Undisputed 3


More On GameRevolution