More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 (Vita) Preview

Devin_Charles By:
Devin_Charles
02/08/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE  
T What do these ratings mean?

What’s your squad?


How many more days must we all wait until the Vita is finally released? Don’t fret, the wait is almost over. But during these final days of waiting, we are getting a small glimpse of what is to come. As several may know, many games are crossing over from the consoles to fit snuggly in everyone’s pockets again via the Vita. From reminiscing about past hand-helds to now, we all hope and want to be embraced with classics.



In its own right, the original Marvel vs. Capcom will always be a classic. Through the years, the series has continued to grow and transform to what it is today. So we all still travel in the masses to check out Ryu’s latest Hadoken or Spider-Man’s Web-Swing. Sometimes down the road we experience a few bumps and bruises. But by the end of the day Capcom comes through and quenches most of our thirst for some kickass hand-to-hand combat.

The Vita version of Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 is an almost full port of the original. The biggest differences are just substitutions of a few new characters and Vita’s feature of “touch control”. Touch controls are relatively basic. Simply tapping on the screen will make your character perform a set number of combos as you attempt to place them in a rhythmic manner. Performing a hyper combo becomes much easier as well, for all you have to do is tap your hyper combo meter. But even with that, there’s no true advantage or disadvantage in using this feature. Mostly it seems to be a training mechanism for beginners or those not wanting to learn all of the movesets.



All combat and player movement runs really well on the Vita. Picture is clear and commands are incredibly responsive. Everything you have or will learn playing Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 on the PlayStation 3 can easily be duplicated on the Vita and vice versa. A movelist for each character can still be accessed from option menus. Diving right back into those 20+-hit combos will be a walk in the park. So tell all your homies to tell their homies: Get to practicing for the game's release on February 22!

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 (Vita)