More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Uo2 Preview

Duke_Ferris By:
Duke_Ferris
01/07/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG / Online 
PLAYERS 00 
PUBLISHER EA / Origin 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

A world in turmoil.

Certainly the first thing that must be mentioned in this preview of Ultima Online 2 is that the game is no longer called Ultima Online 2. Whether this has anything to do with Richard Garriot's (the creator of Ultima, known to fans as Lord British) recent parting of ways with EA and Origin is not really known. Origin claims it has nothing to do with his leaving, but frankly, I'm not so sure.

Either way, the game is now called Ultima Worlds Online: Origin. Although all the press material still referred to UO2, Origin Inc. execs showed me a quickly made mockup of a potential box design with the title "Origin" prominently displayed. But let's have a look at the game and leave all the politics behind, shall we?

To say that there are a lot of changes would be putting it mildly, but the most obvious change is in the graphics. Gone is the isometric display of Ultima Online in favor of a 3D world. The graphics are more advanced than those in Everquest, but you see your avatar from behind, like in Asheron's Call or Ultima IX.

You still have tremendous control over the appearance of your avatar, just like in Ultima Online, and the new 3D graphics are quite impressive. One of the most talked about developments in Origin is that Todd McFarlane, the well-known comic book artist turned toy company executive, was hired as a consultant to design some of the monsters and characters in the game. His contributions are readily apparent in the creatures, which feature all sorts of interesting horns and uncountable numbers of teeth.

The changes only get more startling from there. Some parts of the Origin world have acquired a distinctly technological flair, like a floating cloud city made of steel mesh and stamped metal plates. Britain's ancient enemy, Lord Blackthorn (a McFarlane redesign), sports a new 'millennial' look, complete with cybernetic enhancements.

Even the sacred Ultima map has changed quite drastically. The new world is flooded and divided into a number of islands, like a post global-warming version of Britannia. Truly, this is a departure from old-school Ultima.

And this is part of what the name change signifies. Origin Systems Inc. wants to emphasize that Origin is no replacement for the world of Ultima. In fact, they plan to continue full support of Ultima Online even after Origin is released. They are once again trying something new, something that may have rankled the venerable Lord British.

As for me? Being a die hard Ultima junkie, I can't wait. Unfortunately, I have to. Origin is due out in the spring of 2001.

Click Pics To Enlarge

Lord Blackthorn Britain
Logos


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Uo2