More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Valkyria Chronicles 3 Preview

Chris_Hudak By:
Chris_Hudak
10/08/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Sega 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Pastel Ops.


Every Tokyo Game Show has that one title--it's usually a handheld title, don't ask me why--that, while not one of the obvious triple-A newsmakers, has the visiting foreign press bolting directly for it. Last year it was Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker. This year, at least for me, it was Valkyria Chronicles 3: Unrecorded Chronicles. Sure, the hands-on was completely in Japanese, with no concession to gaijin press, as usual--and that was totally fine with us. After a few re-orienting minutes, we felt right at home.

click to enlargeThe original Valkyria Chronicles came practically out of nowhere in 2008 and developed a fairly rabid following for its hybrid-strategy mechanics, beautiful cel-shaded visuals, gripping storyline, and fantasy-universe take on what seemed to be a sort of splinter-reality WWII. When the sequel emerged for the PSP, it admittedly threw some players for a loop... but it worked just fine. Now, Sega has announced and revealed the third game in the series... and thank the High Command, it looks precisely like 'More of the Same'. Sometimes, this is a good thing.

While the second game in the Valkyria series--also a handheld outing--offered a detectably more light-hearted approach than the original, Unrecorded Chronicles swings the battle-compass back around again, and resuming the war and the narrative with rougher, darker overtones, music, and visuals.

The name of the new installment strongly implies the presence of unsung heroes, and Unrecorded Chronicles adopts a somewhat dirtier, harder, more roughly-used look in terms of the characters, environs, and general art-style. Throughout, cool little presentational flourishes give the battlefield a little more sense of vitality.

Whether in conventional combat-view or on the strategic maps, comic-book-style speech bubbles, requests for help from downed team-members, and critical-health warnings pop up, giving the player a better sense of dynamic connection to the combat.

click to enlargeThe first game was no visual slouch--indeed, it was one of the most visually-compelling new games that, somehow, nobody had every heard of--and Unrecorded Chronicles continues in brilliant lock-step. Players returning to the series will notice an even more striking visual presentation--the characters more visually personalized, the tanks and other vehicles that much more detailed, the alterna-European environments crisper and more alive--while recognizable visual cues remain from the earlier games. This includes line-of-sight indicators and various function/insignia icons (scout, mechanized, etc.) defining each unit's combat role on the strategic maps.

The TGS demo battle was, in truth, pretty short--a single engagement that nevertheless offered a good variety of unit-types, including tanks--but gave players a chance to employ special new Powers ,via the now-familiar Command Point Gauge. Special Powers can be employed by both individual combatant and vehicles: It's a big deal and definitely a situation-changer, to have one of your foot-soldiers suddenly be able to suddenly trigger a dramatic, cinematic transformation into one of the series' namesake Valkyria.

The in-game anime-style cinematics look better than ever, while the mechanics and hybrid action/turn-based battle mechanics really give returning veterans a sense of familiar country. VC3 will be available as a retail and downloadable title in January 2011. No word yet on the return of the franchise to its major-console roots, which we definitely still want to see--but make no mistake, Valkyria Chronicles' transition to the handheld screen continues to do the series proud.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Valkyria Chronicles 3


More On GameRevolution