More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Wallace & Gromit Grand Adventure Preview

Blake_Morse By:
Blake_Morse
03/06/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Telltale Games 
DEVELOPER Telltale Games 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Making life out of clay.


There are not a lot of things that I'm scared of. But for some reason certain types of Claymation scare the hell out of me. I can trace it back to a scene in a California Raisins Christmas Special from my childhood: the Carol of the Bells sketch. Ugh. I really thought the conductor was going to jump out from behind my bed and kill me.

click to enlargeNow that I'm older, I no longer live in fear of that imaginary conductor, but I still find something oddly eerie about moving clay figurines. Which means I'm probably the last person that should be previewing the new episodic Wallace and Gromit video game from Telltale Games. But it's all good. The game is done in an animation style that mimics models of the famous British short film stars, but they're not made of clay. So my paranoid delusions can rest easy.

Since this is going to be Telltale's first launch on the Xbox 360 Live Arcade, they've decided to deviate from their traditional gameplay mechanics a bit. This is still going to be an point-and-click adventure-style game, just without the pointing and clicking. You'll move your character around environments using the D-pad and scroll through options using the shoulder buttons as opposed to just moving a cursor over things.

click to enlargeCapturing the humor of the character strip, the story for the first episode (there are shooting for a total of four episodes) goes like this: Wallace has been making money selling honey. He gets a huge order that he must fill in a short amount of time. But since he doesn't have enough time or honey, he turns to his inventing background to try and solve the crisis. But as anyone who has watched the Wrong Trousers could tell you, his inventions have a way of backfiring on him. So of course the bees at some point become super bees, and it's going to be up to you and your faithful dog (probably more the dog than you) to save the day.

Telltale seems like they can do no wrong at this point. So far I have enjoyed the Strong Bad and Sam & Max episodic games a lot. Wallace and Gromit Grand Adventure looks to carry on their fine tradition of fun adventure games, but we won't know for sure until its release on XBLA and PC later this year.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Wallace & Gromit Grand Adventure