More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Wallace & Gromit Grand Adventure Preview

Blake_Morse By:
Blake_Morse
03/06/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Telltale Games 
DEVELOPER Telltale Games 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Making life out of clay.


There are not a lot of things that I'm scared of. But for some reason certain types of Claymation scare the hell out of me. I can trace it back to a scene in a California Raisins Christmas Special from my childhood: the Carol of the Bells sketch. Ugh. I really thought the conductor was going to jump out from behind my bed and kill me.

click to enlargeNow that I'm older, I no longer live in fear of that imaginary conductor, but I still find something oddly eerie about moving clay figurines. Which means I'm probably the last person that should be previewing the new episodic Wallace and Gromit video game from Telltale Games. But it's all good. The game is done in an animation style that mimics models of the famous British short film stars, but they're not made of clay. So my paranoid delusions can rest easy.

Since this is going to be Telltale's first launch on the Xbox 360 Live Arcade, they've decided to deviate from their traditional gameplay mechanics a bit. This is still going to be an point-and-click adventure-style game, just without the pointing and clicking. You'll move your character around environments using the D-pad and scroll through options using the shoulder buttons as opposed to just moving a cursor over things.

click to enlargeCapturing the humor of the character strip, the story for the first episode (there are shooting for a total of four episodes) goes like this: Wallace has been making money selling honey. He gets a huge order that he must fill in a short amount of time. But since he doesn't have enough time or honey, he turns to his inventing background to try and solve the crisis. But as anyone who has watched the Wrong Trousers could tell you, his inventions have a way of backfiring on him. So of course the bees at some point become super bees, and it's going to be up to you and your faithful dog (probably more the dog than you) to save the day.

Telltale seems like they can do no wrong at this point. So far I have enjoyed the Strong Bad and Sam & Max episodic games a lot. Wallace and Gromit Grand Adventure looks to carry on their fine tradition of fun adventure games, but we won't know for sure until its release on XBLA and PC later this year.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Wallace & Gromit Grand Adventure


More On GameRevolution