More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Warhammer 40,000: Eternal Crusade Preview

ryanbates By:
ryanbates
06/11/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE MMORPG 
PLAYERS 1- 999 
PUBLISHER Square Enix 
DEVELOPER Behaviour Games 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Come under the hammer.

If you haven't heard of Warhammer 40,000 or Behaviour Games, you're not alone on both accounts—​Warhammer 40K is a tabletop game popular in Europe, and Behaviour Games was just formed last year while at E3.

They do not arrive without experience, however; Behaviour's work has primarily focused on partnerships, such as Far Cry 3's side missions. Its first independent project, Warhammer 40K Eternal Crusade, introduces over 26 years of Warhammer 40K game lore to MMO audiences for the first time, and the developers realize that teamwork makes their dream work.



Set in the far future, the promotional material we saw mashes up sci-fi and fantasy, with the player character as a commander of a four-person squad. As the leader, players bond with their squad to gain their trust, making tactical decisions, pillaging underground labyrinths, and storming strongholds. Your faction may opt to align with other factions or stay isolated, but the developers stressed that no matter how you play, you will interact with other players as friends or foes.

Billing itself as a “massive combat RPG,” the project was salvaged by Behaviour from the remnants of the bankrupt THQ, striving to make its version of the game faithful to the original miniature wargame. Players can choose initially from four races introduced in the tabletop: Space Marines loyal to the Emperor of the Imperium of Man, Chaos Space Marines who rebelled against them and turned to the Chaos Gods, the elitist yet psychically-powerful Eldar, or the reckless and bumbling Orks.



The Behaviour devs has finished pre-production on the game and has moved on to the production phase, focusing their efforts on combat, player coordination, territorial conquest, and character progression. However, having a passionate fan base craving any information they can get on the development of the game has served in their best interest as they have reached out for community for their insight, and received it in spades. Developers tout this proudly and, point to it for the game's authenticity, promising to continue outreach into the game's life cycle.

The MMO launches their founders' program in two weeks' time, and plans to allow a limited beta as early as January 2015, with open beta scheduled for summer and a full release in November. To join the crusade, check their website at www.eternalcrusade.com.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Warhammer 40,000: Eternal Crusade


More On GameRevolution