More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine Preview

Blake_Morse By:
Blake_Morse
04/26/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action RPG 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER THQ 
DEVELOPER Relic Entertainment 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence

What do these ratings mean?

How many testicles does a space marine have exactly?


Before we begin, let's get one thing straight right here and now: the Warhammer franchise has been around for about 25 years. It has a huge cult following and there's been many an RTS game created based on its mythos. So I don't want to hear about how this is just “Gears of Warhammer” or how the only real space marine in the world of gaming is Master Chief. That's total bull. The warriors in Warhammer: 40,000: Space Marine have been doing their thing long before anyone had even thought of Cogs or Covenants. And now, with the first title in what Relic and THQ are hoping to turn into a third-person shooter franchise just around the corner, it's time for the old school to show those noobs how it's done.

click to enlargeYou take on the role of Capt. Tidus, a badass among badasses [Badassi? ~Ed.] who's been genetically altered to be one of the most elite soldiers in the galaxy. He's taller, stronger and faster than a normal human being, and even has more organs than you or me. The dude's got more gallbladder than he know what to do with. But not everything is as it seems for the ole captain, as he has a mysterious tie to the Warp, which is essentially the energy of the darkside in Warhammer terms, and it gives him spooky powers while simultaneously setting him up for some serious internal conflict throughout the game.  

As one of the greatest soldiers alive, he's been tasked to fend off an Ork invasion from one of humanity's key Forge worlds—essentially a giant industrial planet—and prevent the dismantling of the Titan factory located there. This turns out to be no easy task, as there seems to be something more than meets the eye going on here. And when the demonic entities known collectively as Chaos show up, there's definitely more to the situation than just what's conspiring on the surface.

In order to survive, stop the invasion and find out what's really going on, Tidus will have to hack and shoot his way through wave after wave of green-skinned, fugly Orks with faces not even a mother could love and somehow avoid being completely obliterated by the legions of Chaos. Luckily for him, he's got balls of steel (maybe even more than two—he does have extra organs, after all), a chainsaw sword, and some very cool guns at his disposal, from the standard machine gun to the more over-the-top sticky grenade gun complete with remote detonator. In addition, he can also do special  “Fury” moves for extra damage, such as a brutal chainsword finishing move or a ranged bullet-time mode that adds extra velocity and damage to your projectiles.

click to enlargeUnlike Gears of War, in which the combat is very duck, cover, and shoot, Space Marine expects you take a more hands-on approach to combat. When you're in the shit, you're in the shit. Not only do you have to deal with snipers, grenadiers, and other various gunmen, you also have to handle wave after wave of foot soldiers all up in your face trying to ruin your day. Do you hack your way through all the grunts in front of you then worry about the gunners, or do you take out the guys who keep shooting you in the back while your chainsword is stuck in some unlucky Ork's skull? Either way, blood will be spilled.

Visually, everything has that Sci-Fi meets Tolkien fantasy look that the franchise is well known for. Gothic architecture with all manner of buttresses surrounded by spaceships and marines that look like they just came from a meeting at King Arthur's round table are abundant. And of course, everyone has a British accent, because in the future everyone's from the UK.

Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine is looking to bring the action right in front of your face and offer up a blend of hand-to-hand combat a la Arkham Asylum while giving you the guns-blazing action of a third-person shooter. We'll find out if it and Captain Tidus are successful in their mission later this year in August 2011 on PC, 360 and PS3.
More GR previews for this game:
Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine preview posted on 04/26/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine


More On GameRevolution