More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Warlords (2011) Preview

Kevin_Dermody By:
Kevin_Dermody
07/13/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Atari 
DEVELOPER Griptonite Games 
RELEASE DATE  

I don't think we're in 1980 anymore.


Warlords is an arcade title by Griptonite Games, a Washington-based developer and part of the "super developer" Foundation 9. Similar to its classic counterpart, Warlords is a vaguely Breakout-esque game, where players use a shield to bounce fireballs into their opponents' castles, while simultaneously protecting their own in the process. As a castle wall becomes damaged, it eventually breaks, allowing for a final fireball to slip within the walls and end the game.

Additionally, players are given control of a "rally soldier", around whom soldiersadorably vicious little soldierswill spawn and follow orders. Depending on the placement of the rally soldier, players can indirectly command their troops to repair their own walls, damage enemy walls, or occupy control points on the field to garner bonusesreverse enemy movement, increase fireball attack damage for the commanding player, etc.


In the initial stages of any given game, the single fireball bouncing lazily around will be incredibly simple to deflect for even the poorest of players. But as time progresses during the match, the number of fireballs increases, to the extent that skilled players can find themselves overwhelmed by the sheer number of projectiles filling the screen.

It's here that Warlords presents a most fascinating challenge; any victory will surely be a pyrrhic one, and players will find themselves deciding not which enemy to attack, but which walls are worth taking damage and which must be protected at all costs. Between controlling your own troops and keeping an eye on the enemies, and the dozens of fireballs arcing about the playing field, the game quickly becomes incredibly hectic and the snap decisions required to mitigate damage and trip up opponents is exhilarating.


There are very few technical issues present in even the preview build, such that it surprised me that the game I played was considered "unfinished". Whatever tweaks Griptonite might make to the game will be purely aesthetic, I'd imagine; if it were published at this very moment, it would feel like a finished game. It's impressive how polished the game is already, to the extent that the infamous "quick release bug fixes" that have become the norm may not be required for Warlords.

Warlords is certainly not, by any extent, a full retail $60 game. But for what it presents as a downloadable title, it's incredibly good and surpasses most of its peers so far. Look for it to crash into XBLA and PSN this Summer 2011.
More GR previews for this game:
Warlords (2011) preview posted on 07/13/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Warlords (2011)


More On GameRevolution