More Reviews
REVIEWS Rise of the Tomb Raider - Baba Y Review
Lara’s first story-driven DLC goes for an altogether spookier tone.

XCOM 2 Review
The aliens made me say it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Arslan: The Warriors of Legend
Release date: 02/09/16

Mighty No. 9
Release date: 02/09/16

Factotum 90
Release date: 02/10/16

Aegis of Earth: Protonovus Assault
Release date: 03/01/16


LATEST FEATURES When Companies Fall In Love, We Get Project X Zone 2
Sure, you can create your own team in other games, but they won't have Chun-Li or Morrigan or Strider, now would they?

5 Ways Bloodborne Has Inspired Dark Souls 3
Bloodborne with shields.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Ivory_Soul
Windows 10 Review for Dummies
By Ivory_Soul
Posted on 08/11/15
After all these years, and growing up with Windows 3.1, I have seen an entire evolution of computers and software. Touch screens and large resolutions were a pipe dream just 15 years ago. Now it's the norm. Going from a Packard Bell (yes, before HP) that couldn't run 3D Ultra Mini...

Warlords (2011) Preview

Kevin_Dermody By:
Kevin_Dermody
07/13/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Atari 
DEVELOPER Griptonite Games 
RELEASE DATE  

I don't think we're in 1980 anymore.


Warlords is an arcade title by Griptonite Games, a Washington-based developer and part of the "super developer" Foundation 9. Similar to its classic counterpart, Warlords is a vaguely Breakout-esque game, where players use a shield to bounce fireballs into their opponents' castles, while simultaneously protecting their own in the process. As a castle wall becomes damaged, it eventually breaks, allowing for a final fireball to slip within the walls and end the game.

Additionally, players are given control of a "rally soldier", around whom soldiersadorably vicious little soldierswill spawn and follow orders. Depending on the placement of the rally soldier, players can indirectly command their troops to repair their own walls, damage enemy walls, or occupy control points on the field to garner bonusesreverse enemy movement, increase fireball attack damage for the commanding player, etc.


In the initial stages of any given game, the single fireball bouncing lazily around will be incredibly simple to deflect for even the poorest of players. But as time progresses during the match, the number of fireballs increases, to the extent that skilled players can find themselves overwhelmed by the sheer number of projectiles filling the screen.

It's here that Warlords presents a most fascinating challenge; any victory will surely be a pyrrhic one, and players will find themselves deciding not which enemy to attack, but which walls are worth taking damage and which must be protected at all costs. Between controlling your own troops and keeping an eye on the enemies, and the dozens of fireballs arcing about the playing field, the game quickly becomes incredibly hectic and the snap decisions required to mitigate damage and trip up opponents is exhilarating.


There are very few technical issues present in even the preview build, such that it surprised me that the game I played was considered "unfinished". Whatever tweaks Griptonite might make to the game will be purely aesthetic, I'd imagine; if it were published at this very moment, it would feel like a finished game. It's impressive how polished the game is already, to the extent that the infamous "quick release bug fixes" that have become the norm may not be required for Warlords.

Warlords is certainly not, by any extent, a full retail $60 game. But for what it presents as a downloadable title, it's incredibly good and surpasses most of its peers so far. Look for it to crash into XBLA and PSN this Summer 2011.
More GR previews for this game:
Warlords (2011) preview posted on 07/13/11.



comments powered by Disqus


More information about Warlords (2011)


More On GameRevolution