More Reviews
REVIEWS Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!

Funk of Titans Review
It’s always particularly tough to find the funk of a game when it already doesn’t have much rhythm.
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt Preview
CD Projekt RED delivered hands-on of their latest installment of their HBO-like fantasy RPG. How does the monster-hunting mutant fare this go around?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES LyteShot Blasts Laser Tag Into the Future
It's a wand. No, it's a sword. Wait, it's a gun. Oh, it's a LyteShot.

Developer Spotlight: Rockstar Games and the Case for Innovating DLC
We’re looking at some of our favorite or highly regarded developers to kick off 2015, though a wag of the finger goes to Rockstar for leaving us hanging.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Watch Dogs Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/11/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ubisoft 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs and Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

I'm never getting on Facebook, Twitter, or this new ctOS network.


And if I were you, I'd go about deleting my information from the net right away. That is, if you're inclined to believe the future Ubisoft is selling in Watch_Dogs.

Players take on the role of Aiden Pierce in a near-future world where everything is connected. It just so happens that Aiden has the ability to hack almost everything around him, thanks to the Central Operating System or ctOS.


This means he can scan the details of every individual around him, discovering that they're horribly in debt, they have two children, or that they're HIV-positive. That can have some scary implications in the open-world genre defined by having sex with prostitutes as in Grand Theft Auto. Aiden can also hack security cameras to keep a low profile, disrupt communications to slip past NPCs unnoticed, or manipulate traffic signals to cause traffic accidents.

In the mission shown off behind closed doors at E3, Aiden had to use all of these abilities, in addition to some sharp third-person shooting to subdue and kill a target. Before shooting the mark in the face, Pierce told him he'd be delivering a message. To whom or for what purpose, we don't yet know.


It'll probably be a long wait too. Watch_Dogs certainly seems like it could be a next-generation game, considering the level of interaction, detail, fidelity, and advance physics systems it promises to employ. A mobile app is also in the works that will allow you to interact with your friends while on the go.

That means setting up accidents ahead of them or assisting them by hacking security cameras in their vicinity. The game promises a quasi-massively-multiplayer open-world at that. We'll bring you more as further information about Watch_Dogs is revealed.


More GR previews for this game:
Watch Dogs preview posted on 03/23/13.
Watch Dogs preview posted on 04/23/14.
Tags:   E3, Ubisoft
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Watch Dogs