More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Watch Dogs Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/11/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ubisoft 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs and Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

I'm never getting on Facebook, Twitter, or this new ctOS network.


And if I were you, I'd go about deleting my information from the net right away. That is, if you're inclined to believe the future Ubisoft is selling in Watch_Dogs.

Players take on the role of Aiden Pierce in a near-future world where everything is connected. It just so happens that Aiden has the ability to hack almost everything around him, thanks to the Central Operating System or ctOS.


This means he can scan the details of every individual around him, discovering that they're horribly in debt, they have two children, or that they're HIV-positive. That can have some scary implications in the open-world genre defined by having sex with prostitutes as in Grand Theft Auto. Aiden can also hack security cameras to keep a low profile, disrupt communications to slip past NPCs unnoticed, or manipulate traffic signals to cause traffic accidents.

In the mission shown off behind closed doors at E3, Aiden had to use all of these abilities, in addition to some sharp third-person shooting to subdue and kill a target. Before shooting the mark in the face, Pierce told him he'd be delivering a message. To whom or for what purpose, we don't yet know.


It'll probably be a long wait too. Watch_Dogs certainly seems like it could be a next-generation game, considering the level of interaction, detail, fidelity, and advance physics systems it promises to employ. A mobile app is also in the works that will allow you to interact with your friends while on the go.

That means setting up accidents ahead of them or assisting them by hacking security cameras in their vicinity. The game promises a quasi-massively-multiplayer open-world at that. We'll bring you more as further information about Watch_Dogs is revealed.
More GR previews for this game:
Watch Dogs preview posted on 04/23/14.
Watch Dogs preview posted on 03/23/13.
Tags:   E3, Ubisoft

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Watch Dogs


More On GameRevolution