More Reviews
REVIEWS Wayward Manor Review
Not even the power of Neil Gaiman and The Odd Gentlemen could save this game from a fate worse than death: a terrible score.

ONE PIECE Unlimited World Red Review
"Unlimited World Red"? More like "Sorta Limited Town and Extended Areas... Red. And Blue. And Some Yellow."
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Sacred 3
Release date: 08/05/14

CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14


LATEST FEATURES How Bioware Creates Romances
Bioware's games have romances where you might save the world, on the side of course.

We Absolutely Should Be Upset With Club Nintendo's Latest Elite Rewards
Surveys out the wazoo and I get a code for Dr. Luigi?
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

Watch Dogs Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/11/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ubisoft 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs and Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

I'm never getting on Facebook, Twitter, or this new ctOS network.


And if I were you, I'd go about deleting my information from the net right away. That is, if you're inclined to believe the future Ubisoft is selling in Watch_Dogs.

Players take on the role of Aiden Pierce in a near-future world where everything is connected. It just so happens that Aiden has the ability to hack almost everything around him, thanks to the Central Operating System or ctOS.


This means he can scan the details of every individual around him, discovering that they're horribly in debt, they have two children, or that they're HIV-positive. That can have some scary implications in the open-world genre defined by having sex with prostitutes as in Grand Theft Auto. Aiden can also hack security cameras to keep a low profile, disrupt communications to slip past NPCs unnoticed, or manipulate traffic signals to cause traffic accidents.

In the mission shown off behind closed doors at E3, Aiden had to use all of these abilities, in addition to some sharp third-person shooting to subdue and kill a target. Before shooting the mark in the face, Pierce told him he'd be delivering a message. To whom or for what purpose, we don't yet know.


It'll probably be a long wait too. Watch_Dogs certainly seems like it could be a next-generation game, considering the level of interaction, detail, fidelity, and advance physics systems it promises to employ. A mobile app is also in the works that will allow you to interact with your friends while on the go.

That means setting up accidents ahead of them or assisting them by hacking security cameras in their vicinity. The game promises a quasi-massively-multiplayer open-world at that. We'll bring you more as further information about Watch_Dogs is revealed.
More GR previews for this game:
Watch Dogs preview posted on 04/23/14.
Watch Dogs preview posted on 03/23/13.
Tags:   E3, Ubisoft
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Watch Dogs


More On GameRevolution