More Reviews
REVIEWS Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.

The Swapper Review
One of 2013's best indie games swaps its way to Sony platforms.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14


LATEST FEATURES Interview: Forging the Rings of Power in Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor
Tolkien fans may now either squeal with glee at getting to play interactive fanfiction... or condemn it to the watery grave of Numenor.

How Bioware Creates Romances
Bioware's games have romances where you might save the world, on the side of course.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oneshotstop
Call of Duty will never be the same
By oneshotstop
Posted on 07/28/14
       We've all been there. Everyone remembers that mission. You and your partner are climbing up the mountains in the snow, striving to pull some slick clandestine operation about getting some intel on a bad guy, or something similar (because let's face...

Watch Dogs Preview

Keri_Honea By:
Keri_Honea
03/23/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ubisoft 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs and Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

Big Brother is watching... we're all watching...

Sad to say, but what Ubisoft showed of their highly anticipated game, Watch Dogs, was the exact same footage they showed at the Sony PlayStation 4 press conference. The narration of the presentation was completely different, but that was all that was new from the gameplay shown.

In case you missed that press conference, Ubisoft showed a little more of what the protagonist, Aiden Pearce, can do and what the player can do with this huge open world Ubisoft has created within Chicago. Since Aiden is connected to everything and everyone, he is able to see who could actually be a potential victim in a crime. In this case and point, Aiden comes across a woman who recently won a custody battle and was flagged by the ctOS as a potential victim.

When Aiden follows her, he witnesses her being accosted and physically threatened by her ex-husband. Aiden can choose to intervene, and in this instance he does, thereby saving the woman's life. Aiden also chases down the ex, prompts a circuit breaker to overload and burst right in front of the man's face, and when he falls, Aiden beats him down into submission. Now Aiden must flee the police, which he does by hacking into a local train as it passes, forcing it to slow down long enough for him to hop on board. The brief presentation showed the possibility of all the side quests the player could encounter in the open world, which also made the game far more appealing to me, as I've had trouble getting excited about this game.



However, Ubisoft did give us some more information about the game as a whole. For instance, the lead developer mentioned that the game could be played on a variety of devices, suggesting that other people could watch your game [Who watches the watch dogs? ~Ed. Nick], but didn't go into much other detail than that. So does this mean that there will be Watch Dogs apps for smartphones and tablets as well? And with these apps, can you tap into other players' games and watch? If so, that really helps play into the huge surveillance theme of the game, but as for me, I really don't want people watching how much I suck at playing games. If that's what it is, can I possibly turn it off?

There is still no official release date other than the vague fourth quarter 2013. Watch Dogs will release on both current-gen and next-gen platforms.
More GR previews for this game:
Watch Dogs preview posted on 04/23/14.
Watch Dogs preview posted on 06/11/12.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Watch Dogs


More On GameRevolution