More Reviews
REVIEWS Boo Bunny Plague Review
If you think you can enjoy the definition of budget game design, this one might make you laugh.

Minimum Review
With so many shooters crowding the marketplace, it’s refreshing to see Minimum take the low-fi route through Steam Early Access.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Watch Dogs Preview

Keri_Honea By:
Keri_Honea
03/23/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ubisoft 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs and Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

Big Brother is watching... we're all watching...

Sad to say, but what Ubisoft showed of their highly anticipated game, Watch Dogs, was the exact same footage they showed at the Sony PlayStation 4 press conference. The narration of the presentation was completely different, but that was all that was new from the gameplay shown.

In case you missed that press conference, Ubisoft showed a little more of what the protagonist, Aiden Pearce, can do and what the player can do with this huge open world Ubisoft has created within Chicago. Since Aiden is connected to everything and everyone, he is able to see who could actually be a potential victim in a crime. In this case and point, Aiden comes across a woman who recently won a custody battle and was flagged by the ctOS as a potential victim.

When Aiden follows her, he witnesses her being accosted and physically threatened by her ex-husband. Aiden can choose to intervene, and in this instance he does, thereby saving the woman's life. Aiden also chases down the ex, prompts a circuit breaker to overload and burst right in front of the man's face, and when he falls, Aiden beats him down into submission. Now Aiden must flee the police, which he does by hacking into a local train as it passes, forcing it to slow down long enough for him to hop on board. The brief presentation showed the possibility of all the side quests the player could encounter in the open world, which also made the game far more appealing to me, as I've had trouble getting excited about this game.



However, Ubisoft did give us some more information about the game as a whole. For instance, the lead developer mentioned that the game could be played on a variety of devices, suggesting that other people could watch your game [Who watches the watch dogs? ~Ed. Nick], but didn't go into much other detail than that. So does this mean that there will be Watch Dogs apps for smartphones and tablets as well? And with these apps, can you tap into other players' games and watch? If so, that really helps play into the huge surveillance theme of the game, but as for me, I really don't want people watching how much I suck at playing games. If that's what it is, can I possibly turn it off?

There is still no official release date other than the vague fourth quarter 2013. Watch Dogs will release on both current-gen and next-gen platforms.
More GR previews for this game:
Watch Dogs preview posted on 06/11/12.
Watch Dogs preview posted on 04/23/14.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Watch Dogs


More On GameRevolution